We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Christmas Day fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Jules

Chez Jules
Ranked #224 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: New Town
Description: Informal French bistro, great steaks and seafood but also froglegs, snails, boudin noir, canard roti...During August last food order is 00.30 am (sunday to thursday) and 1.30am Friday and saturday. Bon appetit
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Day fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great atmosphere and food, what more could you ask for on Christmas Day? From the starters right through to coffee, it was perfect for us. The dauphinois potatoes served in a rustic pan were totally awesome, and the steak simply wonderful. The staff, though busy, were friendly and attentive.

Can't wait to go back. Cheers Chez Jules, and a Happy 2013!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auldreekie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    285
    76
    44
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Ate Christmas lunch here on Xmas Day,terrific experience, great food, wine,service excellent,place had a great vibe,very atmospheric,able to eat at our leisure and would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uppercraigorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real French food at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We opted for a set menu of 3 courses for £9.90 a head with 3 or 4 choices per course.
I had game terrine, to start my wife had smoked salmon, coq au vin for my main course whilst my wife had turkey escalope and we both had chocolate mousse for dessert.
There were bread and olives provided free of charge to take the edge of the appetite and the ambiance was akin to any I have experienced in French Bistros.
Wine was average restaurant prices, we had the house white which was very agreeable.
We went early evening and it was fairly quiet, but apparently it gets very busy later on especially at weekends.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ckingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wouldn't go back if you paid me!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went to Chez Jules for Christmas Lunch - 3 courses for £9.90... the low price should have been the first clue not to expect much!
The restaurant was tiny with far too many tables/chairs to be a comfortable environment. If you are claustrophobic, don't visit this restaurant! Squashed in like sardines, our table was a wooden picnic bench - very uncomfortable to sit on for any length of time! Ladies, don't wear a skirt as you have to swing your legs around to get seated on the picnic bench - not very glamorous. Given that it was so packed, the noise level was extreme. You could barely hear yourself think, never mind have a conversation with anyone without shouting or lip-reading!
The food was ok: not brilliant, but not terrible. The complementary food (salad, bread etc) was good. But I didn't like having to use the same cutlery for the starter and the main meal - have you ever heard the like? Not acceptable. And who serves wine in a tumbler? This restaurant doesn't own wine glasses!! Because it was so packed, there was little elbow room to eat your food - imagine cutting your meat with your elbows in at your waist!
Toilets were grotty. Overall, I wouldn't go back if you paid me!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackieKackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierre221, Owner at Chez Jules, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Chez Jules is indeed a very popular French restaurant (un restaurant populaire!) with outstanding food, great prices, enjoyable wines, great service and a very happy, noisy appreciative clientele. As we know this can not please everyone all the time and for this "Je m'excuse" sincerely.
On the plus side, we have a firm policy of not paying our customers to come back which will put a definitive end to any further disappointments for both of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went to Chez Jules for lunch and ordered off the Christmas menu of 3 courses £9.90. Thought this was an absolute bargain considering the quality of the food and how full were at the end! After we were seated we were immediately brought complimentary bread, olives and salami which was great. The restaurant was very busy and a little cramped (not much space to move between tables for the poor waitresses!) but this adds to the charm and atmosphere. Would highly recommend this restaurant if you're in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FernGully2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Jules also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Chez Jules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing