We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with lovely service”

Edinburgh Larder Cafe
Ranked #335 of 2,640 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Breakfast: start your day with our award winning breakfast including a range of healthy options such as our own homemade granola (both gluten and dairy free), porridge cooked to order with a selection of toppings, croissants and pastries. Or set yourself up with something more hearty including scrambled eggs with salmon, bacon or sausage, our delicious full breakfast and lots of other tasty treats. Accompany the excellent eating with artisan coffee roasted in Edinburgh, or teas blended here in Scotland by Edinburgh based Eteaket.Throughout the day: if you're after something sweet, our delicious cakes are made on site by our staff who all love to bake. Our gluten free dark chocolate and nut brownies are regularly hailed as the best in town - as are our delicious light scones served with clotted cream and homemade jam. Lunch: eat in or take away daily specials such as homemade soups, frittatas, quiches and organic pork & herb sausage rolls together with our menu of seasonal Scottish deli plates, salads, sandwiches made with artisan Scottish cheeses, Highland salamis, Arran smoked fish, and Lanarkshire cooked meats. Wash all this down with one of our local craft beers or a selection of fine local drinks and soak up the atmosphere!
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I personally love this place. The food is simple and delicious, and the service is great. And I love that they are endorsing Scottish and seasonal produces. The food portion does seem smaller than others but they are more than enough, especially since they are more than happy to provide you with endless jug of water.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rizkifitria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hi there,

Pleased to hear that you like the cafe and the service! We love promoting the fabulous produce we have here in Scotland! Thanks for letting us know your thoughts about the food portions. We're having a look into this now.

Thanks for writing such a kind review, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

All the best,

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,058)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 853 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went for breakfast and having had would highly recommend the porridge and granola. It was a lovely relaxed way to start the day, served by extremely friendly staff. There was a good selection of fresh produce on display that was tempting enough for us to decide that we will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lola186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hello,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of our hearty and healthy breakfasts, and the service at the cafe! I will definitely pass on your kind words about the staff :)

Thank you so much for writing a review, and we look forward to having you back soon!

All the best,

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Didn't want to have a large meal just something substantial to begin a day of sightseeing and found the Edinburgh Larder to be just perfect. Great staff and food and the perfect cup of tea!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Front Office Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the Larder, and the tea too! We get our tea from Eteaket, based in Edinburgh and love it.
We hope to see you soon!

All the best,

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We only had two days in Edinburgh but what a find. Delicious soup and fresh bread served by very friendly people. No frills, just good food. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello!

So glad you enjoyed your time at the Larder! I'm delighted you enjoyed your soup! We love making them and always try to make something a wee bit different with whatevers fresh. We hope you had a good stay in Edinburgh, and we hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed both a breakfast and lunch and we can honestly say it was fantastic. It wouldn't be our normal choice to visit, but we gave it a go and you should to.
Fresh food, tasty tea's and coffees, there was nothing not to like about this deli.
Please don't go if you want frills etc, the place is small and very cosy, but after a hard morning doing the sight seeing, sitting down to have fresh homemade soup with a fresh sandwich and being treated as an individual and not 'another tourist' made the world of difference

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghlarder, Public Relations Manager at Edinburgh Larder Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hi there,

We're so glad you and your wife enjoyed your time at the Larder! Thanks so much for your kind words about our soups and sandwiches. We really enjoy making them too :)

Hope to see you back at the cafe soon, and that you enjoyed sightseeing Edinburgh!

All the best,

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edinburgh Larder Cafe also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Edinburgh Larder Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing