We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in central but quiet location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Location, location, location! Castle View Apartment Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
Castle View Apartment - exterior view
Location, location, location!
Castle View Apartment Living Room
A good dram of single malt awaits our guests: Slanj!
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Living Room
Castle View Apartment Kitchen
Castle View Apartment Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 1
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 2
Castle View Apartment Bedroom 2
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Castle View Apartment Bathroom
Edinburgh Castle from the living room window
Castle View Apartment: New Year Fireworks Over Edinburgh Castle (photograph taken from living room window)
The Grassmarket
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
elliechic...
purton
1 review
“Wonderful stay in central but quiet location.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Excellent stay in clean, central and well appointed apartment. The visit was made even better by the extra little touches and wonderful welcome provided by Peter. Will definitely be back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KikiMarti...
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, daughter and I loved, loved our stay at the Castle View apartment. Peter considers every aspect of your comfort, from orientation in the flat itself and in greater Edinburgh (there's an information binder as well as brochures to assist you in every conceivable way), to the blackout shades, to extensive kitchen supplies, to the decanter of Scotch. The flat is very well-located, spotless and comfortable, a fantastic place to come back to after a full day. We would go back in a heartbeat--and hope to, one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and thoughtful amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DellyMae0...
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at this apartment recently and had a fabulous holiday. It is perfectly located to explore the city and is in walking distance from Edinburgh Waverley Railway Station. The flat is beautifully furnished and has everything that you could need for your stay. Located at the heart of The Grassmarket there are numerous bars and restaurants in the immediate area. All types of cafes and restaurants including Italian, French, traditional pub meals and takeaways. We were met at the premises by the owner who had provided a selection of breakfast food and essentials including a welcoming 'wee dram' of Single Malt Whiskey! Could not have wished for more from this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Immaculate and homey apartment in wonderful location!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our second stay in castle view apartment now - we have spent a week over winter and a week over summer, both weeks were wonderful and Pete is a fantastic owner to deal with. The apartment is both immaculate and homey with all needed appliances and utensils of excellent quality. We hope to stay a third time! Thanks Pete!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy W
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment was spotlessly clean, and very well equipped. It was in an ideal location in the Grassmarket, just behind Edinburgh castle. The owner Peter was very friendly and informative. We will recommend this apartment to friends and we hope to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppaluga
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Perfect Location & Apartment”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved this apartment and would definitely stay here again! It was exactly as advertised - including a view of the castle from the front window - and exceeded our expectations. The owner was fabulous and even had some excellent whisky (free) in the apartment for us. I cannot say enough about this place. You need to stay here!

Less than a 5 minute walk to the castle and the Royal Mile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness.
Liked least: Not applicable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manfred_1...
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Feeling at home in Edinburgh's old town!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This beautiful apartment in the west area of the old town is about 1 minute walk away from the Grass Market. So it is perfectly situated for visiting the city by foot. Just that you understand how "central" it is situated: when you look out the window in the livingroom, you look directly up to the castle, which is, I guess, about 200 meters away. - perfect.

It has two very nice bedrooms, a beautyful bathroom and an open, but still very cosy livingroom with open kitchen. The whole apartment is lovely decorated, which makes it feel like a private apartment which you're offered to stay at.

The apartment was fully equipped with everything you might or might not need during your stay (wi fi, dish washer, oven, stove, microwave, tv,...towels, hairdryers(!), even an iron was there). Everything was in perfect condition.

Booking and payment worked perfectly easy. At the end of our stay we had to check out basically in the middle of the night, but due to our great landlord even that was no problem at all.

Summing up I can absolutey recomend this accomodation - especially if you travel with your family (which was a party of three in our case).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was way nicer than we expected
Liked least: the partying students can be pretty
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing