We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to trip advisor rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Ranked #105 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 days over new years, we picked it based on the great reviews on trip advisor, however we were very disappointed, firstly we had to wait very long for a room to be ready, when we finally received the room it smelled of cigarettes and the bathroom also had a strange smell. Whilst the room layout was great, it did not make up for the poor service. The introductory folder was not in the room so we called to inquire and was spoken to as if there was no possible way that it could not be in there and that we had not properly looked, they promised to send one up and still did not deliver to the time we checked out. The hot water was set on a timer so we could not shower when we wanted. Overall the apartments did not ref how nice Scotland is and really put a damper on our new year experience.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank AusTraveller1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced during your stay and for the lapse in our Housekeeping standards on this occassion.

Having checked your comments further I have no record of Reception being made aware of the problems you encountered with regard to smell of smoke in your apartment-we do have a strict no smoking policy. Had we been made aware we would have tried to offer an apartment move.

A guest folder was requested and I am sorry this was not delivered to your apartment.

The electric boiler does offer a boost facility to provide additional hot water.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to restore your faith in Fountain Court Apartments.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 216 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Gorgeous little apartments only 10 mins walk from the centre of Edinburgh and worked out far cheaper than the average hotel. If you're in Edinburgh for more than the one day these apartments are highly recommended.

The staff are also worth a mention and were more than helpful with taxi's and advice etc

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSNLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

i have been staying in the Grove apartments for the last 9 months and i will be there for the next 8 at least, i am very particular with where i stay so for me to be there this long says a lot,just like living at home but with a cleaner,,,,,,, everything you need for a most comfortable stay,from 1 night to 1 year you get the same treatment,i`m very happy to be in the Grove apartments,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crossy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed for 4 months and was very pleased with our choice, the staff were great, the apartment spacious clean and comfortable. I found the location very convenient because it is only a short walk to the city center and the tourist attractions and the shops.

You do not have to deal with all the crowds and noise of Princes Street and Royal Mile (where many of the hotels are located)! Another positive aspect of the location is that there is a supermarket conveniently located just around the corner. I stayed in a two-bedroom apartment facing the front of the building and there was a bit of street noise during August which can be attributed to the famous Edinburgh Fringe Festival. From September, there was not much noise at all. The staff are very helpful and the apartments were always kept neat and clean.

Have thought hard but cannot fault our stay and have recommended to others, many thanks to the staff . Overall, Grove Executive is a very good choice.

Room Tip: A couple of tips: if visiting during July & August, ask for an apartment that faces the back. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claud2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and was very pleased with our choice, the staff were great, the apartment spacious clean and comfortable. Will return to Edinburgh again and certainly book at the grove. Have thought hard but cannot fault our stay and have recommended to others, many thanks to the staff

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Fountain Court grove Executive for 4 nights. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags, while we went off to get our bearings! The location was perfect! Buses just round the corner to take you into town,although its only a 15 minute walk!
The apartment itself was fantastic! Very modern,spacious, clean and well equipped.. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade so had a two bed apartment, which was great. The concierge staff were really friendly,helpful and knowledgable. It was very busy at the apartments whilst we were there, but no noise whatsoever.
We would definitely go back to Fountain Court and recommend it wholeheartedly!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rider58London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I visited Edinburgh on a business trip and stayed here for 5 nights. I found the location absolutely perfect, because it is only a short walk to everything you need in the city so that you do not have to deal with all the madness of Princes Street and Royal Mile (where many of the hotels are located)! Another positive aspect of the location is that there is a supermarket conveniently located just around the corner. I stayed in a two-bedroom apartment facing the back of the building and there was no street noise. The only issue I encountered was during the last night of my stay and it was with a few noisy neighbours. However, upon complaining to the reception staff, they dealt with it almost immediately and I had a good sleep before my departure. Overall, Grove Executive is a very good choice.

Room Tip: Get a top floor unit facing the back of the building. You will have the view of residential building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firahs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lochend Serviced Apartments
#146 of 151 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#53 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,414 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#78 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive

Address: 121 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#54 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $99 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to our own specification, the contemporary and bespoke collection of apartments provide an open plan lounge/dining area leading to a fully fitted kitchen. Stylish bedrooms and luxury bath or shower rooms with toiletries complete the package.All our two bedroom apartments incorporate a separate or bathroom for each bedroom - perfect for our corporate guests, and our two penthouse apartments have a 'loft like' living space, providing truly spacious and well appointed accommodation. Our 3 studio apartments all have a clever and stylish glass partition feature wall to separate the bedroom and living area. Needless to say, both living and sleeping spaces each have a flat screen television.Apartments benefit from the latest technology, with complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen satellite televisions in the lounge and bedrooms, and a full entertainment system including a DVD player and i-pod docking station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing