We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B and B!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Netherby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Netherby House
Ranked #119 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cold Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great B and B!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This B&B is close to downtown Edinburgh and 10 min. from the airport. Clean and bright...great full breakfast or continental. Close to several restaurants...Italian close by-Fabio's-great food. Friendly host-safe and on a main street.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunterColdCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtt1960, Owner at Netherby House, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear HunterCol,
Thank you for taking the time to write about us on trip advisor. I am delighted that you found our accommodation clean and comfortable; we are lucky to be so close to the airport and still to have such a wonderful selection of restaurants on our doorstep.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future, when you can enjoy another “Scottish Breakfast”.
Kind regards;
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
44
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We spent two nights as a base for fringe shows. The room was a good size, with facilities (t.v./shower etc). The owner was welcoming, and gave us lots of assistance as regards buses etc. Breakfast was tasty, and freshly cooked. No warming trays for his food! The route to the house was easy to follow, and there were ample car parking spaces. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2. What it lacks in a view it makes up for in peace, as the house is on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtt1960, Owner at Netherby House, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear dglaw,
Thank you for taking time to leave us your kind comments on trip advisor, I am glad to hear that you found your room a good size and that our facilities (tv, wi fi, en-suite etc) were satisfactory. I am especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast; we always prepare freshly cooked breakfast for you. If you are ever in Edinburgh again you will be welcome here.
Best regards;
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool north east of England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting the Edinburgh Tatoo and found this B&B to be perfect for this.
George, the owner, really knows how to make you feel welcome from arriving to leaving nothing was too much trouble for him, he provided bus information and booked taxis etc.
He serves a great breakfast that will set you up for the day.
Will definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtt1960, Owner at Netherby House, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Gordon D, what a great review!
Thanks for taking your time and write about us on Trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you felt so welcome and satisfied with the location and the service that you received here at Netherby, we do try to make you feel at home and it’s good to hear that we sometimes get it right!
I look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind regards;
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed only one night at Netherby House. The welcome was very friendly and the rooms lay in the more quite back of the house, not to the street. The room was clean but a little to small. No problem for a short trip!
Breakfast was very good with a lot of cereals, croissants and other nice things.
Perfect was the service, cause we could store our lagguage till afternoon and visit the city. After that we came back and a taxi was arraged for us.

I have to say, it's a good place to stay ;)

Room Tip: Room Number 1 faces to the street I think so the other rooms might be quiter. Room Number 2 is a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtt1960, Owner at Netherby House, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Dieter, thank you for taking your time and write about us on Trip advisor.
I am delighted to hear that you received a friendly welcome, and that you were satisfied with your breakfast, however you are right is stating that even though room two is a nice and quiet room it is our small room, all our other rooms are a lot larger, it was unfortunate that it was the only room free for you that night.
You will always be welcome here if you are traveling to Edinburgh again.
Kind regards;
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Being anywhere with business is never a fun thing however, George at Netherby house made it so much more bearable by providing a comfortable, clean and well presented b&b. The breakfasts are excellent and I found that is was close enough to the countryside to go for nice long strolls and only a short bus ride from the city centre putting it in my ideal location!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtt1960, Owner at Netherby House, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Ian
Thanks for taking your time and write about us on Trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you felt so welcome and so satisfied with the location and the service that you received here at Netherby.
Kind regards;
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Spacious room with comfortable bed, excellent shower and tea & coffee tray. Host very pleasant and helpful and provided a tray of goodies as we were leaving too early for breakfast.
Close to large shopping centre and easy access to town and airport.
Certainly worth a visit. .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtt1960, Owner at Netherby House, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Dear Isobel M,
Thank you for taking time to leave us your kind comments on trip advisor, I am glad that you found your room spacious and comfortable and I am especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast tray before your early morning departure. If you are ever in Edinburgh again you will be welcome here.
Best regards;
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treuddyn, Flintshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were travelling to Edinburgh Airport via North Wales and decided to stay at the Netherby for two night before our trip abroad and again on the night when we returned. We were only approx 4 miles from the airport or 10 mins on a very frequent bus service from Edinburgh and the castle etc. There is also a nice pub and other restaurants within 1/2 mile which are great for meals. The breakfasts are fresh,traditional and very nice, just what we needed on a busy day.

It would be unfair to just descibe the accomodation as just 'rooms' as they are set out like mini apartments, which have lovely beds, a great TV and bathrooms which were absolutely spotless clean. If you want a quiet place, this is it.

The host, George, and his wife were more than welcoming and helpful and were happy to arrange taxis etc or anything that would make you visit more pleasant. I cannot praise this place enough and would happily recommend to anybody. I plan to return to Edinburgh soon and the Netherby is the place I'll be going to.

Thanks again, George.


Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreigCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#49 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherby House

Property: Netherby House
Address: 41 Glasgow Road | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation near Edinburgh airport, all rooms en-suite, free parking and wi-fi. Ideal for late arrivals or early morning departures. Direct shuttle bus 6 minutes from the airport and on a direct bus route only minutes from Edinburgh city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Netherby House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing