We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and Spacious”
Review of Pilrig House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilrig House
Ranked #136 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We had a large apartment while at the Pilrig House. There were 2 couples in our group and we had more than enough room (2 bedrooms, 1 bath, living room, dining room, kitchen, foyer). The beds are extremely comfortable, the linens plush and it is very quiet. Beautiful house overlooking a park. I could sit in the window seat and watch as people walked their dogs or jogged through the park. But there wasn't much time for that, there is a lot to see in Edinburgh. Phillip is a very kind host. He went over and above the call of duty to help us. There was a spiral staircase to get up to our third floor apartment. If you can't walk up stairs they have plenty of ground floor rooms. I whole heartedly recommend the Pilrig House.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kclily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2010

The accommodations were exactly as described. The apartment we stayed in "Balfour" was wonderful...plenty of room for 4 adults - the view onto the park was beautiful. Phillip was a wonderful bonus - he made us feel extremely welcomed and told us fascinating stories and his recommendations for places to eat were "spot on".....the only caution is the washer/dryer - we made a fatal mistake in trying to use it. Since we are from America, and use the fahrenheit system and not familiar with the celcius - we had set the water and heat too high and thus caused our shocks to shrink to toddler size (hahaha) - fortunately we had only washed the white clothing items....Phillip took us to a laundry service to have the rest of our clothes washed/dried....When we travel back to Scotland, we will DEFINATELY book at the Pilrig.....absolutely fabulous. Debbie was also wonderful and gracious. LOVED IT

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatCharish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I learned of Pilrig House through the Tripadvisor. I'm so thankful I found this place. The best accommodation that I've booked thru the internet. Debbie is amazing, she is a perfect host. Everything that has been written about Pilrig is true.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

these apartments are beautiful.Our apartment overlooked the park.it was set with anything you could ever need, including chocolates, whicky,biscuits,milk,washing powder etc etc..everything has been thought of including walking maps and city information.we loved this apartment and philip was most helpful when we arrived and explained everything we could need to know.we felt welcomed and wanted and were even allowed a late checkout because we had a late flight.extra linen was provided so we could use the sofa without fuss and i would love to return to this beautiful city and stay again in these apartments

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burgundian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,033 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilrig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilrig House

Address: Pilrig House Close, Edinburgh EH6 5RF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilrig House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Pilrig House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing