We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Scones anywhere!”

Clarinda's Tea Room
Ranked #4 of 81 Dessert in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old Town
Reviewed August 5, 2016

You might walk right past this cute little tea room. It only holds 30 customers. The homebaked cakes and treats are fresh and flavorful. Several varieties of tea available and reasonable costs. Some sandwiches and breakfast items available.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank rmom352
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 322 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2016

If you want to take a break on the Royal Mile this is a great place for afternoon tea. Very cute setting and an affordable tea and really nice selection of desserts. They also don't seem to be in a hurry to have you finish and leave.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sherry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

Stopped for lunch and then for breakfast. Small cozy setting and you might have to share with another party, but what a great way to meet fellow travelers or "natives"! Very happily satisfied both times.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 645Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 28, 2016

This is a wonderful little place. We had breakfast there once, tea once and numerous snacks to go. The staff were friendly. Everything we had was really good but the caramel shortbread is too die for. My husband got one of these for one of our snacks as we walked the Royal Mile and it took everything in me not to steal it from him after he gave me a taste. I made sure I got my own after that. This is a tiny place but worth the wait.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cbbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

While visiting the Royal Mile, we came upon this lovely little place.
Nice selection of homemade cakes, lovely scones as well as a good breakfast menu.
Love the very old fashioned decor of this place with pictures and plates on the wall, china crockery in display cabinets, lace tablecloths and lots more.
Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheltie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Clarinda's Tea Room also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Clarinda's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.