We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunedin Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$511
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$275
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
$207
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$172
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$180
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
89
22
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
22
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarthur's seatbagged breakfastbus stopcity centrefull scottish breakfasttop flooredinburgh marathonstayed for nightsrelaxing staywalking distancewonderful hostsroom was spacioustrip to scotlandholyrood parkfirst morningconvenient locationexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 124 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I would very well recommend this guest house on the basis of its many excellent qualities, listed below:
- Very very clean and well-looked after, which is really one of the very first things you notice. The pictures shown on their website are completely representative, if not making it seem a bit worst than it is
- Extremely polite and helpful owner. He really made a tremendous difference in our stay, being helpful with questions, preparing breakfast and being very discrete
- Spacious bedrooms
- Beautiful B&B with well looked at front garden
- Extremely well connected with buses to the city center

And I am certain there are other features that I am forgetting, but the beauty of the B&B, the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the bedrooms and of the whole guest house really stand out. And at very reasonable prices.

Totally recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekainada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Owners were friendly and offered suggestions for local places to eat dinner. Easy access to downtown via local buses. Nice neighborhood. Full Scottish breakfast served - very tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grammy755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I have just returned from a weekend stay in the Dunedin with 3 friends.
We had the roomy attic room which had 4 single beds in and an en-suite shower room. Both rooms were bright, very clean and tidy and the shower gels, shower caps etc were a nice touch.
The room was up two flights of stairs, the second being quite tight and windey (which were 'fun' after a few drinks!) but David did offer to carry our bags up when we arrived - to which we refused but were sorry we did when we saw them!!
The guest house is decorated beautifully and had lovely features. David was very helpful in explaining where the bus stops, restaurants and touristy things where even though there were plenty of leaflets available. He even supplied us with an ice bucket for our pre night out drinks, Theres plenty of on street parking and we felt happy leaving our cars there the whole time.
The breakfast was fab with a good choice of fruit, cereal, cheeses, oatcakes and juices even before you order your cooked breakfast. This really set us up for the day sight seeing and walking up and down those steps and hills.
We were given three sets of keys which were handy as we didnt return at any 'reasonable' time!
The guest house is only about a mile away from Princes Street and cost £1.20 per person on the bus or between £4 - £6 in a taxi, depending on where your going. This made the night times quiet and comfortable.
We would definately stay here again and have recommended it to everyone who has asked.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liverpool-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Good location in South Edinburgh. Beautifully appointed, wonderful breakfasts, spotlessly clean, cordial, helpful host, no detail overlooked in making this a positive aspect of your stay in Edinburgh. Multiple bus lines run frequently to Royal Mile and Princes Street, a very short ride away. Excellent pub three blocks away. Super quiet at night. I've stayed there on two occasions and have no reason to stay anywhere else. As nice a B&B as I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArtloverAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Dunedin Guest House is situated a bit outside of Edinburgh, but that is no problem since many bus lines stops just outside on the street, and it takes you in to city in ten minutes. Me and my sister had av very pleasant stay in Dunedin. It's quiet and comfortable. The rooms are small but clean and cozy, and the service is top class. Our host, David, was very nice and helpful and served a delicious breakfast. I really recommend Dunedin if you're planning to visit edinburgh. It was our first time in the town and the experience was wonderful, much thanks to this awsome guest house!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanzara70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews