We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inside a work of art” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holyrood Abbey

Holyrood Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.25*
and up
Edinburgh Royal History Walking Tour with Optional Palace of Holyrood House...
Ranked #37 of 391 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
228 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Inside a work of art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Holyrood Abbey was in my places to visit list ever since I saw Louis Daguerre's 'Ruins of Holyrood Chapel' at Liverpool's Walker Gallery (in fact I sat down and stared at it for hours!). So when I visited Edinburgh I had to see the Abbey. It was like walking inside the artwork itself!

The place is a great part of Edinburgh's long history. It was founded by King David I in 1128AD and for the next 600 years was a place of worship and royal ceremonies. In 1691 it lost its function as the local parish church and in 1768 its roof was blasted away during a huge storm, leaving it in permanent ruin.

I suggest you take your time and look around the ruins and imagine what it would have been like in its time of glory. Nowadays it still instils a feeling of respect, tradition and faith in you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank svoures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    167
    59
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
676 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Not to be missed when visiting the Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Abbey adjoins the Palace of Holyroodhouse and could easily be missed when in awe of its grander and well kept neighbour. But be sure to take the time to soak up the atmosphere and splendour of the ruins of this once great Abbey and take in the architecture that remains.

Well documented plaques help you understand more of its orgins and history and piece together the remains from those sections that haven't.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
580 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“History overload”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

There is so much to see and absorb when you visit Holyrood Abbey even though it is and has been a ruin for centuries. Allow plenty time to see the place well and to soak up all that it has to show you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“when open its worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

sadly when we went the abbey was closed for repairs but the structure itself was visible for all to see and looked so eary

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank djbpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pretty and Historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

One for a nice dry day, it is nice to wander around at your own pace and view what is left. Plaques explain what is what and there are plenty of opportunities for photos. Well laid out and easy to walk around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Littlebigfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holyrood Abbey also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Holyrood Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing