We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B close to Edinburgh airport and centre!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #126 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B close to Edinburgh airport and centre!”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed for one night at Johns and Margarets lovely house. We had chosen it because of it's proximity to the airport, but it turned out it only took us about 15 min by bus to the town centre. Perfect! The bedrooms were really nice and comfortable; you could hardly hear the traffic outside. Delicious breakfast and a nice chat afterwards with our amiable hosts. Thanks again for a very pleasant stay and have a wonderful time on your cruise! Peter and Carita (driving the Daimler from Sweden).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Degerfors
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Very nice and helpful host couple.
Very fresh rooms & bathrooms
Comfortable beds
Free Wi-Fi
Excellent breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HansLindback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

john and margaret own the b & b, formerly their family home. with the children gone their bedrooms have been converted to ensuite rooms. my room was a twin, extremely spacious with a large shower room. impeccable cleanliness.

on arrival i was greeted by john and shown to my room. i was free to use their garden to enjoy part of the day. margaret surprised me by making me a cuppa and providing biscuits.

john arranged for my very early morning taxi and provided several pieces of fruit, chocolate, etc. in lieu of breakfast.

the house is an eight pound taxi ride from the airport. the bus stop from the city center is 200 feet away. coming from the airport it is only a few yards. one pound thirty to get to the city center by bus.

on my next overnight visit i will call thistle dhu first.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquiltam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The Thistle Dhu was our designated Guest House for the last two nights of our motor tour of Scotland. The Jaguar dealership across the road (A8) helped us locate the Thistle Dhu. Our en suite-room was a pleasant surprise. It was large, bright and airy with all the amenities we could wish for. The free WIFI gave us a chance to catch up on our Emails. On-site parking was at the front of the building just off the main road (A8). Buses on A8 offer frequent service to Edinburgh city centre 4 miles away. Our host, Margaret Simson, provided a great Scottish breakfast. The spacious garden in the rear with its conservatory was a pleasant treat. We had to leave before 7am to return our car and catch our plane from Glasgow Airport about 40 miles away. Margaret set out our breakfast which was very much appreciated. All in all, the Thistle Dhu certainly equalled or exceeded all of our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast
Address: 110 Glasgow Road | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8LP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Dhu Bed and Breakfast is a 3 star comfortable non smoking detached family bungalow conveniently located on the main Glasgow Road A8, 4 miles from Edinburgh city centre and 2 miles from Edinburgh Airport / Ingliston, 2 miles from Edinburgh Zoo and 3 miles from Murrayfield stadium, there is an excellent bus service to the city centre and the airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing