We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere with Great food and service”

The Edinburgh Coffee Lounge
Ranked #1,439 of 3,072 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in here yesterday when we were passing. The decor is relaxing and it has a lovely atmosphere. The lady who served us seemed genuinely interested in our plans for the day and recommended places to visit on the royal mile. The coffee was very tasty and piping hot which I asked for. We had scrambled egg with tomato and avocado which was enough to feed both of us. There is a lovely dog who came to say hello but left us in peace. Will definitely come back soon. Thank you for a lovely experience

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ValerieM407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 7 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2019

Not very happy with these guys.
Sold 'gluten-free' cake that wasn't gluten free, on two separate occasions this week. I know it's festival time but that's a reason to be more careful, surely? I checked three times with them before purchasing and only found out by accident when Saturday staff offered me an ingredients list, after I tried to buy the cake a third time.
This isn't good enough. I'm not going to die but someone with a nut allergy could be in serious trouble if they're similarly lax about that.
Just think people should know.
No apology. No refund.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019

I’ve been coming to this place pretty regularly lately! I come to read, journal, and just chill. It’s got a good selection of drinks & food, all within a cheap & reasonable price range. Edinburgh is expensive but this place doesn’t up their prices to anything ridiculous. The owner is an absolutely lovely lady who welcomes and treats everyone warmly. I recommend checking this place out if your in the area. Even just for a quick coffee! It’s worth it.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank kayla_luhrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

Can’t recommend this place enough - especially as a new mum looking for a nice place to relax
Great honest food - especially for those who love brunch
Customer service and chat is on point! Love a place you walk into and it feels homely!
Regular customers created a great vibe
Lots of busy students coming and going to work on their laptops - nice to be around so many hard working individuals

Not a coffee fan myself but my partner banged on about his fantastic coffee for the whole evening after! Put me to shame!

Luxury hot chocolate is a personal fave ✌

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank 13Katie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019

Popped in on whim to work one Thursday mid-morning. Lady (owner I think) was friendly and helpful. Coffee was delicious. Nice ambience with fairy lights and good background music. Sweet dog in the corner. Nice plants on the tables. Rustic but not pretentious. Nice place to work, chat or just chill. Leather sofa and comfy chairs in the window for people watching. Highly recommend! Eliot

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eliota523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Edinburgh Coffee Lounge also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Edinburgh Coffee Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing