We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Oink

Oink
Ranked #78 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Welcome to Oink!This little piggy went to marketLet us introduce you to Oink, we are farmers who specialise in delicious hog roasts from our very own Scottish Borders farms.We are passionate about good honest food and hope you find our story interesting enough to try our succulent hog roasts for yourself.Yours Adam and Sandy and all the team at OinkOink Hog Roast Rolls – Treat yourself to a ‘CRACKLING’ good lunch or snackIf you are looking for a deliciously different lunch or snack then treat yourself to a freshly carved hog roast roll at our shop in Edinburgh’s Victoria Street or find us at Edinburgh Farmers Market.Oink Outside Catering – We’ll go the whole hog for your eventFor any event or party we can bring our delicious hog roasts direct to you with outside catering for up to 500 guests providing a freshly carved product that people genuinely love.
Peiraias
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice food, good service and nice prices, be sure to go early as the pig doesnt last forever so try to go before 4:00

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Athens13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    545
    117
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pig,n "Brilliant"”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Try,d Oink for the first time on friday, and the pork is just amazing, juicy, full of flavour and comes with a great choice of sauces, i had the haggis and sweet chilli which was great and my husband had the apple sauce, which was also great but there could of been slightly more sauce on his, the service you couldnt fault either and the guys were really up beat and friendly, we would highly recommend this little place and cant wait to visit again,

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asprent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wow, a whole pig in the window!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great pork sandwich and a cup of soup too. We each had a sandwich with a different sauce on it, ranging from apple, to barbeque, to mild chili. Also had choice of haggis or stuffing to go with it. Special of the day was a carrot soup. Limited seating in the restaurant - most folks too theirs to go.

Helpful?
Thank Bart0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go Early! Go Often!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had an amazing sandwich from Oink while in Edinburgh, and while I live in one of the great BBQ capitals of the US, I have dreams of how tasty that sandwich was. A whole smoked hog in the window, and when it's gone they close up. Pork, stuffing, your choice of chutney, and you can add haggis and cracklins. What's not to love? They don't have more than 10 seats inside, but it seems most people take theirs down the street to where there is more seating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basically brilliant”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

There's not much too order. It's pulled pork in a roll with stuff of your choice, don't forget the crackling. It may be cheap but it's amazing. A little jewel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oink also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Oink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing