We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice respite on a busy vacation”
Review of The Guest Room

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Guest Room
Ranked #45 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice respite on a busy vacation”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

First, our hosts were so hospitable, gracious and accommodating. The room was perfect. It was in "new" town about 1/2 mile from the train station. There were tea rooms and restaurants close by. It was the largest we had on our trip, including a couch and easy chair to sprawl on before and after our busy days. We were served our breakfast on a tray in the room. It was yummy! The croissants were very fresh, flakey and warmed up just right. The raspberry jam was a perfect addition. We were able to choose our time for breakfast which made it easy for us. I was able to make all arrangements online. I had to pay cash for the room after we got there. They're working on getting a different payment system so the rooms can be prepaid which would be nice.

Room Tip: I recommend this B&B with all confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
135
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at The Guest Room in April (taken a bit of a while getting round to writing this review!) as part of a birthday weekend away and our first trip to Edinburgh. We really enjoyed our stay at The Guest Room.

The location is great and a perfect base for exploring the city, the room is well equipped, comfortable and elegant. I liked the little touches like the hallway light being switched on for us so there was light when we got back in the evening, the shortbread in the room and always offering fresh milk to take to our room for tea. Breakfast is ample and delicious and I think thoroughly described in a previous review. Fergus and Katrina went out of their way to meet us and get to know us even just a little as we were out all day exploring Edinburgh.

The only slight problem we had was parking given the parking permit restrictions and cost of parking in the city however, if you are driving, I recommend parking at the Travelodge Edinburgh West End which has 48hr parking for £14 that's open to non-Travelodge guests as well. From there you can walk along the river through Dean Village, which is a really picturesque walk back to the city centre and The Guest Room.

We loved Edinburgh and when we go back we'll definitely be looking to stay back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahmaria_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just got back from a fantastic anniversary weekend in Edinburgh, made all the more special by our stay at The Guest Room.
The B&B is just 15mins walk from Edinburgh Waverley on a quiet Edwardian street that’s only a few minutes stroll from a wealth of good restaurants, bars and pubs – we particularly enjoyed Broughton Street.
Our room - accessed from the family kitchen - was beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and had the comfiest bed I’ve ever slept in! The tea and coffee tray came with delicious home-made shortbread which we were able to enjoy whilst sitting on the sofa planning our weekend with the room’s helpful Edinburgh information pack. The breakfasts were fantastic: delicious porrage, granola, fresh fruit, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, croissants, tea and coffee – all brought to the room on a tray at the time of our choosing.
Katrina and Fergus made us feel more like guests in their home than customers, always on hand with the information you need when you’ve only got a weekend away. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Katrina and Fergus over the bank holiday and had a fantastic weekend. They were both very hospitable and catered to our plans, especially in preparing breakfast for us earlier before the marathon. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully presented. The Guest Room is in a fantastic location and we were in easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to visit. We will definitely be back when we return to Edinburgh.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank littleshivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was brilliant! Great hosts, very comfortable bed and the breakfast....well it was top notch!!! Even catered for gluten free. Would stay here again. Highly recommend the guest room. Katrina and Fergus are great hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thistlekoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently spent 2 weeks in Ireland and Scotland and this was definitely our favorite B&B! Katrina and Fergus were wonderful hosts! We arrived very early in the day and Katrina was there to great us with fresh coffee, and we were able to check in then. Fergus made a point of meeting us as well. The room was very clean, had fresh flowers and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was delivered every morning to our room at a time that worked for us. We had a very early flight out of Edinburgh, so Katrina left us coffee and fresh croissants in our room the night before we left (although she did offer to get up early and bring us a full breakfast...which goes above and beyond I think!). We didn't have a car, but the Guest Room is an easy 15 min walk from the bus stop (which also runs to and from the airport). The location is great, about a 20 minute walk from the Royal Mile, close to lots of restaurants and pubs as well. A great stay, I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenLee0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A very comfortable escape from a weather miserable weekend in Edinburgh. This B&B has everything you need and more. As said by previous reviewers, wonderful hosts Katrina and Fergus. They gave great advice on where to eat (Loch Fyne Restaurant, very good) and suggested a better route to our next B&B and somewhere to shop on the way. Thank K and F.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSLugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#14 of 391 in Edinburgh
544 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 391 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#16 of 391 in Edinburgh
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 391 in Edinburgh
427 reviews
Dene Guest House
#17 of 391 in Edinburgh
328 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#38 of 391 in Edinburgh
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Room

Property: The Guest Room
Address: 31A Nelson Street, Edinburgh EH3 6LJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guest Room 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest Room Bed and Breakfast is right in the centre of Edinburgh's historic New Town of Edinburgh. Easy access to Waverley train station, the bus station and the tram. Although we are right in the centre you will find our location a peaceful and quiet place to come back to at the end of your day. We have a few award winning pubs just 2 minutes walk away as well as restaurants, shops, and cafes. The portrait gallery is just around the corner as is the privately owned galleries and antique shops that can be found on Dundas Street. Drummond place gardens are directly opposite us. The Courtyard Guest Room has its own private entrance, and is nestled at the end of a pretty courtyard, offering quiet and comfortable accommodation with en-suite facilities and a super kingsize bed/twin. The Guest Room overlooking the Courtyard is a spacious and airy double bedroom found at the end of your own private hallway, with private shower room. The large double sofa is the ideal place to relax with a cup of tea after a busy day exploring the city. An extra bed can be put in to the room if need be. The rooms have TV/DVD, radio, tea/coffee making facilities, homemade baking, FREE WIFI Breakfast is delivered to your room at a time that suits you. We offer tea/coffee/hot chocolate, freshly squeezed orange juice, muesli, granola or porridge, greek style organic yoghurt, fresh berries, croissants, homemade toast. A cooked breakfast is also available if preferred. We are flexible with our check-in time and are happy to look after bags once you have checked out if you are not travelling until later on in the day. We look forward to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Guest Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guest Room Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing