We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, excellent location & hosts”
Review of The Guest Room

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Guest Room
Ranked #42 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here two nights in early October and were very pleased. The location is excellent, an easy 10-minute walk to the sights, restaurants, etc. but yet not right in the middle of all the noise. The room was very nicely furnished and comfortable, cozy view of the courtyard on the lower level. The breakfast was just perfect and is brought to your door and the hosts were more than welcoming and very helpful in giving recommendations to local sights and restaurants. Parking is usually pretty easy and it's a very pretty neighborhood to walk around in - more residential. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to Scotland!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cooks-RA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for The Guest Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very nice room in the basement of the house. The room is very well decorated and enough space. The shower system was amazing. the best in our holiday and a good option after a cold summer day.

For breakfast you can choose a lot of options and eat it in you room.

Fergus and Katrina are wonderful people and you can make very nice talkings with them. Listen their tips of visitings.

The room is near the downtown and you can make all your trips by walking.

When we visit Edingburgh again this room will be our first option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay with Katrina, Fergus and their delightful family. Our room was comfortable, attractive, immaculate. Breakfast was served to our room by the gracious Katrina. The Guest Room is within easy walking distance to the castle, cathedral and the Royal Mile, as well as many restaurants. Tea and home made short bread were served us upon our arrival. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts with the fresh fruit and croissants. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilltop2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our second visit to the Guest Room. This time for two nights and we stayed in the upstairs room which was just as comfortable as our previous stay in the courtyard room.
Katrina and Fergus have changed nothing...... why fix-it when it's not broke, so the breakfast in bed was as excellent again, what a relaxing way to start your day?
This time we met their boys too and it was a real pleasure chatting with the whole family either on our way out or in. They introduced us to two new areas of Edinburgh we hadn't previously visited.... Stockbridge (Deanhaugh St and Raeburn Pl) and Broughton Street, which both have a nice feel with bars, restaurants and specialist shops but without the tourist tackyness of the Royal Mile etc.
Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here one night during the festival on a business then pleasure stay.

Travelling on my own I was welcomed by Katrina who made sure all the details I needed were confirmed before hand, which was reassuring.

The room was beautiful & tranquil with the added touches of nice tea selection, fruit & shortbread & thoughtful inclusion of books & magazines too.

There was a perfect balance of feeling welcome & comfortable but also the right amount of privacy.

Lovely breakfast, which included delicious homemade granola & a pretty patio outside that was enjoyable to sit & read in.

An elegant, tranquil & charming place to stay with well considered service.

Would definitely stay again and would consider going with our toddler next time, as the atmosphere makes for a lovely family trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snsinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My cousin and I stayed for 2 nights at the Guest Room. The room was comfortable and cozy with a warm, soft bed, a wide array of books, variety of tea and the most divine shortbreads. The hosts, Katrina and Fergus, are extremely friendly and gracious. We started the mornings with a good breakfast of muesli, fruits, croissants, tea and juice. The B&B is ideally located not too far from the station and city center.
We didnt get reservations in the garden room. Our room was inside the house, so to enter our room we had to go through the house. It wasnt much of an issue though, because it is tucked away in a corner and no disturbance at all.
We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitsiBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

It was a really good choise stay 3 nights there! The owners of the Guest Room were really nice with us! The breakfast was really good! and the hygeine of the bathroom and room was excellent! We really enjoyed it! It is just a 15 mins walk from the centre and altough it is not that far it is still a quite area!

Room Tip: The rooms are very relaxing! The colurs and all the accessories of the room are really sweet. The pr...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michman609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
453 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#13 of 393 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
94DR
#7 of 393 in Edinburgh
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#11 of 393 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#25 of 393 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Room

Address: 31A Nelson Street, Edinburgh EH3 6LJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $121 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guest Room 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest Room Bed and Breakfast is right in the centre of Edinburgh's historic New Town of Edinburgh. Easy access to Waverley train station, the bus station and the tram. Although we are right in the centre you will find our location a peaceful and quiet place to come back to at the end of your day. We have a few award winning pubs just 2 minutes walk away as well as restaurants, shops, and cafes. The portrait gallery is just around the corner as is the privately owned galleries and antique shops that can be found on Dundas Street. Drummond place gardens are directly opposite us. The Courtyard Guest Room has its own private entrance, and is nestled at the end of a pretty courtyard, offering quiet and comfortable accommodation with en-suite facilities and a super kingsize bed/twin. The Guest Room overlooking the Courtyard is a spacious and airy double bedroom found at the end of your own private hallway, with private shower room. The large double sofa is the ideal place to relax with a cup of tea after a busy day exploring the city. An extra bed can be put in to the room if need be. The rooms have TV/DVD, radio, tea/coffee making facilities, homemade baking, FREE WIFI Breakfast is delivered to your room at a time that suits you. We offer tea/coffee/hot chocolate, freshly squeezed orange juice, muesli, granola or porridge, greek style organic yoghurt, fresh berries, croissants, homemade toast. A cooked breakfast is also available if preferred. We are flexible with our check-in time and are happy to look after bags once you have checked out if you are not travelling until later on in the day. We look forward to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Guest Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Guest Room Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing