We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Guest Room
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$511
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$275
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
$207
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$172
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$180
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
188
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskatrina and ferguscourtyard roomporridgeown private entrancewonderful hostsnelson streetyogurtperfect bed and breakfastcomplete privacyr rportrait gallerylots of nice toucheseach morningfabulous place to staylonger stayhome away from homeshort walk to princes street
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 199 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend in Edinburgh and Katrina and Fergus were the most gracious and accommodating of hosts. We stayed in the lower ground room with en-suite bathroom which was very private and cosy. After a long day of walking around the city, we were delighted when a knock on the door at 5PM came with an offer of tea and Katrina's out-of-this-world brownies--dangerously good! I whole-heartedly recommend The Guest Room if you are looking for quiet and home-like accommodation in Edinburgh--the location is perfect, too. Thank you for making our weekend such a relaxing one, Katrina and Fergus! Kimberley & Mungo

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLadyGatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Katrina and Fergus where fantastic during our 4 days stay, this this place was just the ticket from the moment we booked to our arrival and when we arrived what a warm welcome we recieved. Breakfast in our room every morning was great, fresh fruits, porridge, to highlight Saturday's Cooked breakfast Fergus Special Black Pudding was so tasty. It's location is perfect and so central to Edinburgh's City Centre everything is so close and at hand. Nice light, clean and airy room, home from home. Highly recommended and can't wait to go back. Hope to see you very soon, Thank you for making our 25th Anniversay FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnzoT2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed two nights in that beautiful bed&breakfast and were 100% confidentwith everything. I love the style of your kitchen and Fergus´porridge tasted great. Untortunately the wheather was snowy-stormy, but Kartina invited us to come home every time we want.
We absolutely can recommend it without any doubt. Thank you very much, Fergus and Katrina!! We will come another time and I already recommended you to our neighbours. Christian& Verena

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights last year and had an amazing time. Although, to get to the room we had to cross owners kitchen but you were welcomed so well every time that we didn't mind. The room was nice and clean and walking distance to most places to visit. i would highly recommend this place for a short visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A charming cobbled-stoned courtyard with flowering plants and trellises leads up to a private entrance to one of the two spacious rooms of The Guest Room. Beautifully furnished and with all modern conveniences (luxurious king sized bed, wifi, tv, ensuite), the room is both charming and comfortable, with the added luxury of 'breakfast in bed' being offered by friendly hosts. My husband and I had a perfect weekend getaway in Edinburgh and highly recommend this bed and breakfast for visitors to the city who are looking for a spot of indulgence at a reasonable price.

Katarina and Fergus's homestay is located in a quiet neighborhood, within easy walking distance of Edinburgh's lively city center and a range of local bars, coffee-shops and restaurants. The tastefully decorated rooms are complimented by their gracious hospitality - we were welcomed with delicious shortbread and coffee, served breakfast (muesli, porridge, summer fruits, croissants, beverages) in our room at a time of our convenience, and were directed to a range of interesting local sites, all of which made our trip very memorable. We would love to come back and stay with them again :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GetawaysAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guesthouse31a, Owner at The Guest Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Hi Ipshita and Akshay,

Thanks so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you to stay over the Easter week end and we hope you were able to have a relaxed stay before you went back to your hectic schedule!

Please come and stay again sometime! Katrina and Fergus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews