We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service excellent”

Sambuca Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Sambuca Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #824 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food and service excellent”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went there last night for friends birthday meal as had a booking at Los Argentinos (steak place around the corner from it) but when we turned up they had overbooked so we were left high and dry despite having booked the table well in advance. Anyway on to Sambucca...We had two courses, 2 bottles of wine and liquer coffee. Before starters we had the most delicious bread with olive oil and balsamic. 3 of us had half portions of pasta as a starter and 4th had garlic mushrooms. All dishes were ample and delicious. As we had all had out hearts set on a steak so we opted for steaks here done in mustard, brandy and cream - absolutely delicious. We had liquer coffees and then the owner brought us complimentary zambuccas which was appreciated.

Service was excellent and will certainly return. A night that could have turned out to be a disaster was saved by Sambucca, The meal was for a special birthday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    49
    10
    12
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“worth trying”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Sambuca offers a traditional variety of dishes and it does it well: the owner is keen to reproduce a true Italian food cuisine, combining food quality standard and fair final bills. He is originally from Lazio, near Rome, so some dishes may be adjusted to the taste of the region, but they aren't britishised at all. I was particularly fascinated by the assortment of wines: not too many, yet carefully selected and affordable in terms of prices. My partner had a mushroom pizza, which was excellent, and I went for some sweet Marsala Scloppine, which again were incredible. Why do italians live longer? These two dishes perhaps are part of the answer :)

Mark

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely as always”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a relatively quiet Thursday night and greeted cheerfully, orders taken quickly and did not have to wait long on the starters-good thing too as we were very hungry!
The food is lovely-good flavours and portions are huge possibly too big as we struggled to finish both courses and felt a bit bad leaving some. Need to remember to order half portions next time.
This is a lovely little restaurant which I use regularly and have never been let down. A must if you are in the area

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss2Mrs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“NOT AUTHENTIC”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Interesting that this is being called 'authentic'! I took some Italian friends and they said food was way off the mark in terms of authenticity! In fact we discovered that both owner and chef and not Italian!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fairly authentic”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The price for a Business Lunch (2 courses) was £5.95 - Bargain. My friend's pasta was a little bit too al-dente and my risotto was a fairly small portion. The waitress was friendly and 'no-nonsense'. All in all it was a very reasonable for the price, but next time I might be willing to pay more for the main menu to get more food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FIRTHYSCOTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambuca Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Sambuca Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing