We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Curry & Chocolate Tart!!!”
Review of Cafe Fish - CLOSED

Cafe Fish
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stockbridge & Dean Village
Description: Scottish Seafood Restaurant of the Year 2012 After two really successful years in Edinburgh's old port district, Leith, we've moved to larger premises up town, on the Newtown Stockbridge border. Still doing the same - 100% fresh, seasonal fish and shellfish with a daily changing menu. Great selective wine list, a fab range of Bollinger champagnes, and a great space to dine in. 70 covers, open seven days April to October and Tuesday to Saturday November through until March, looking forward to seeing you!
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A great visit to cafe fish... Love the curry with prawns, was very tasty. We also had steak which was good and a good size portion (and he likes a lot of food!!). We were well looked after by the friendly staff all night. Dessert of chocolate tart with hazelnut ice cream so tasty .. Very unexpected in a fish reasturant. Dessert is highly recommended!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodieEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Cafe Fish
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 187 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Having eaten at Cafe Fish in Leith it was great to visit Cafe Fish's new Stockbridge location which is in an old Bank with amazing Art Deco features quite different to Leith. Excellent welcome from the same friendly staff. Fabulous & beautifully balanced monkfish and prawn curry, perfectly spiced and good portion. I liked the look of a lot of the dishes coming out the kitchen so will be back. If like me you like fresh fish you can't go wrong with a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JintsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Imaginative, tasty cooking. But very expensive for small portions. For example, £11 for a starter of 3 small scallops and bits of black pudding. Not surprised it was half empty at a weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishboss, Owner at Cafe Fish, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Hi thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your meal. The scallops are hand dived and cost about 70% more than dredged ones - so if you're used to paying £6-8 then they'll have been caught that way.We only buy sustainable or ethically sourced fish and clearly this doesn't include dredged shells.The restaurant was fully booked on both Friday and Saturday evenings last weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We looked at web-site and saw menus to die for so booked at table. Got a very unfriendly welcome in a very sterile and stark restaurant. Not busy yet not much eye contact or pleasantries from staff. Asked what shellfish or lobster they had - they had none! Asked what they would recommend, staff looked blankly in response. Menu looked boring and nothing appealed to the four of us. No atmosphere - we left! Staff made no plea for us to stay, we told them why and they accepted it! Menus also seemed ridiculously overpriced compared to website! Fish restaurant........really, really?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank Bobymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishboss, Owner at Cafe Fish, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hi and sorry that your experience wasn't a good one - the sample menu hadn't changed on the web site (we try to update it a couple of times a week) and I can understand your disappointment!! . Our menu changes every day and we are sadly at the mercy of the weather - if the west coast is stormy the divers and small boats don't go out. On the day of your visit there was no crab, langoustines or lobster, the only shells we had were scallops and mussels. We served 47 customers on the evening of your visit and smiles all round, so it's a shame you didn't stay -we didn't have the opportunity to get a word in if you recall - you were off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went here Saturday night with family, we have been a few times before. Food was very good and three of us had the fish and chips which was excellent, just a few suggestions to the restaurant
Please use warm plates as last third of meal is cooling rapidly
Make sure your web site wine list has the same prices as the restaurant--the Gavi di gavi mentioned below is £25 on web site and £29 in restaurant
Diners make sure you do not sit in line with the main door, it's huge and lets in lots of cold Edinburgh air

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Victoria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishboss, Owner at Cafe Fish, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Hi thanks for your comments and all noted - we updated the new wine list same day, there was an over door air curtain/heater installed this week and we're using table mats now as it's the aluminium tables that can be on the cool side. Glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you in again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing