We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Repeat customers at this lovely B+B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blossom House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blossom House
Ranked #165 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Repeat customers at this lovely B+B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had previously stayed here in August 2011 whilst at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, and decided to book early to make sure we got a place here again for our visit in 2012, so booked in January 2012. We had to change our booking dates a couple of months later, and they were fully accomodating with no problem changing things. Between our booking and our stay in August 2012 they had refurbished the rooms, which gave the place a nice refreshed feeling. The owner remembered us commenting when we checked in that we would have the same room as last time. No complaints from us! The breakfast room is now in the rear conservatory which is nice and bright. Breakfast is adequate for us, with plenty of choices as well as a small fry-up if you wanted it. We will definately use this B & B again when we return in August 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzkazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    37
    17
    14
    4
See reviews for
21
43
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Rooms were newly refurbished with this fab modern relaxing theme running through this cute family run B&B. The staff/family were most welcoming and charming. Being a vegan, the staff were able to accommodate my breakfast needs. Although located on the main street heading into Edinburgh City Center, the room I stayed in was quiet and peaceful. I loved Edinburgh, I loved this Guest House and I fully intend to return and stay here again before the end of 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in a recently refurbished room. We found the place to be clean. The owner was very hospitable. No complaints at all about the stay. The place was within walking distance of the main part of town.

The breakfast is a little on the small side but we had a nice comfortable stay there. maybe a Scottish breakfast does not include bacon !!

Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here with my husband last week and we absolutly enjoyed our trip. From the minute we checked in to when we checked out, we were made to feel right at home. The rooms were clean and newly renovated with a lovely elegant decor. The Blossom House had a beautiful bouquet of flowers with a card waiting in our room that my husband had asked for in advance as it was our anniversay. The staff were most helpful with information and even went out of their way to find our bus timetable and prices for different highland tours. Breakfast was served hot and promptly and was delicious.

I most certainly will return to Edinburgh again and will definately stay at The Blossom House.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackyDHiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at Blossom House with my Dad and sister on the Six Nations Scotland-France weekend and we had a really nice stay. The rooms had just been renovated and they were really nice. We were given a choice as we were the first guests to arrive and we were really happy with the room. The breakfast was fine, good choice and tasty. Very pleasant owners, we were given advice on where to go and how to get there, and with a smile! Will go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

The room was very comfortable, it was all new, just redecorated. The place was quiet so we slepped well. The bus stop was just in front of the house, which was useful. And the people from the B&B were welcoming and helpful to me and my son ! I also enjoyed the cooked breakfast watching the garden in the glass room. There are shops and nice restaurants (like "the wild elephant", a very good thai restaurant) just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is not a hotel which povides a cooked breakfast. Although I booked ensuite I had to wait 35 minutes to gain access to the communal toilet outside in the corridor.

No bacon at breakfast - TWICE - One uncooked tomato overcooked sausage and one egg. That was the total breakfast. No toast available, no milk for the coffee . When the milk eventually arrived coffee was cold.

Money demanded upfront -I wonder why !

When I complained about lack of bacon the response was "We cater for everyone" They certainly did not cater for me though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#59 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
#136 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
4.6 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#93 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#34 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#26 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blossom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blossom House

Property: Blossom House
Address: 8 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blossom House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Blossom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blossom House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing