We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of My Edinburgh Life

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
My Edinburgh Life
Ranked #326 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
hexham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Managed to get a room at short notice for a trip to The Fringe. Really liked the place; lovely lounge on the first floor to sit and read, good selection for the self service breakfast which is served at a big communal table in the basement garden room (nice to meet the other guests and check out what they had been to see), and a simple, but contemporary bedroom. Thought it was good value for The Fringe and it is situated just a short walk from the city centre. I didn't know the west end of the city centre before my visit and I thought there were some charming little streets close to the hotel with a great variety of eating options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    49
    25
    17
    18
See reviews for
34
50
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed here twice during the Edinburgh Fringe as it is easy to get to from the airport, and easy to get to central Edinburgh where all the shows are on, it is also cheap to get a taxi back late at night.
This was really good value, as we paid £200 for 4 nights, which is a good price considering your rooms do not get made up during your stay (only before and after) and it is a 20 minute bus ride from the Princes street, and your breakfast is just a couple of pastries from the corner shop and cereal.
However when we have tried to book our next stay there, the prices have gone up for £200 to £500 for the same room at the same time. That is 150% increase in less than a year! And that is the cheapest room!!! I do not think that this is good value for money at all, and I will not be staying here again unfortunately. For this price, you could stay in a hotel where your towels get washed and your bed gets made and is right in the center of town. I am really really disappointed with this, and although I would have recommended this at the price it was at before, I certainly will not recommend it now.

Room Tip: Try not get the basement - it gets very damp and stuffy and noisey as it is right by the kitchet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a really handy and comfy place to stay. Just over the road from Haymarket railway station and round the corner for regular buses that (for £3.50 all-day, or £1.50 single) take you downtown to Princes Street and across the city.

The rooms are modern, very tastefully furnished and with TVs. Some have cooking facilities too.

The get-your-own breakfast in the basement gardenroom is a pleasant experience. Vast range of fruit, cereals, breads/croissants, tea, coffee to have at the ten-seat communal table, in the garden or take back to your room.

A few decent restaurants also round the corner or chinese or fish and chips takeaway closeby. Tesco just 200m away.

The only let-down is the almost constant humming of what sounds like an aircon unit all night (in room 11 on top floor, noise emanating from a locked but vented cupboard on corridor) as well as in room 5 (ground floor). Spoiled my sleep.

Shame.

Otherwise had a great 3 night stay for the Festival.

Phil was very helpful getting me an extra night when I needed it and the cleaners kindly showed me where to leave bag securely when I arrived early.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms due to noise from humming noise from cupboard on landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in this B&B with my friend for the weekend. Location wise is perfect, just a short walk from the city centre.
The room was not huge but nice, tidy and clean. Only problem it was just opposite to the kitchen so it gets quite noisy during breakfast hours and its not ideal if you want to sleep a little longer after a night out!
The major problem we had was no hot water in the shower (and basin as well) although the bathroom looked brand new. I emailed the manager and he was really kind, replied almost immediately, but was not able to fix the problem over the weekend so we kept having cold showers for the rest of our staying...
A part from that the place is lovely ans well kept and prices acceptable.
Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at My Edinburgh Life weekend of the Jazz Festival and Open Golf and due to this our options for accomodation were limited. We were lucky to find M.E.L by all accounts.
The house is lovely and clean and the breakfast arrangement is a little different but does the job it's intended for.
We felt that for the price there could have been more room amenities such as tea/coffee facilities and more in the way of those little extras in the room and bathroom that you would normally find when paying in the region of £200 for the two night stay.
Would we stay again? Yes, but I think we could have got more for our money had it not been so busy in Edinburgh,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Minor hiccup at start as fuse blown so no power in room. We sorted with the friendly help from staff via phone

Very organized and sent us info to get into place

We were in bottom level and it was small but other rooms looked like they were nice..

The bed is hard but sleep able for one night for us.
Breakfast was provided - awesome and great facilities if u wanted to cook etc

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilomls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Clean, tidy, well equipped, friendly and more than adequate location. Need I say more. I enjoyed my stay immensely. The owner Phil and house keeper Anna were both very pleasant. I had a late night bus so not only did they give me a slightly late check out but also allowed me to keep my luggage in their store which I could easily collect later on in the evening. There is a bus stop and taxi ramp across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Palace Residential
Palace Residential
#137 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#78 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
West End
The Guards Hotel
The Guards Hotel
#390 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Mingalar
#100 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Edinburgh Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Edinburgh Life

Property: My Edinburgh Life
Address: 13-14 Rosebery Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — My Edinburgh Life 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Edinburgh Life is a cozy, yet sophisticated guesthouse that offers short-term holiday lets throughout the summer months (June - August). A prime location and an intimate atmosphere makes for a peaceful and pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Edinburgh Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Edinburgh Life Hotel Edinburgh
My Edinburgh Life Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing