We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of L'Escargot Bleu

L'Escargot Bleu
Ranked #67 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Edinburgh may be teeming with French restaurants but very few are as authentic as L���Escargot Bleu. Gaining dedicated fans from the moment its doors opened, this place owes less to what a French restaurant should be than to what a French restaurant is ��� as any visitor to the little bistros of Parisian back streets and off-the-beaten-track towns will tell you. The haphazardly put together surroundings, dotted with Edith Piaf posters and furnished with checked clothed tables, only hints at what the menu has to offer. So true to real French eating, the menu is very nearly unbelievable with snails cooked in piquant garlic, steaks smothered in cheese-heavy sauces and anything else you���d care to imagine being sent out of any good kitchen in Perpignan, Poitiers or Pontivy served without a hint of irony.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is absolutely one of the best restaurants in Edinburgh. We were in the room at the back with a view in to the kitchen where you can see the French chefs languidly taking their time to create some very tasty fare. I had the steak which was cooked to perfection, melyt in the mouth with a wonderful rich sauce. There's always a good atmosphere with attentive staff who don't rush you. The only slight downside is that the desserts are never as good as the mains or starters but that is to nit pick. I had a great evening and will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    157
    35
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southsea
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nostalgic France”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The place is hardly noticed from the road; go upstairs and you enter another world; French music and songs from the 60s welcome you together with all the magnicient posters from the 50s and 60s; it's paradise. What a lovely venue. the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The menu is very imaginative; I had mussels in red wine and cinnamon to start with; absolutely delicious! I never thought such a combination could work; it certainly did and i will try it at home. The creativity of the chef was felt in all dishes, from starters to desserts. We had a fantastic and
would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to friends or anyone coming to Edinburgh.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albatros747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If only the macaroons were better”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were glad to get a reservation as we had heard the place was excellent. Great starters (black pudding salad and ox cheek terrine) and mains (confit duck and rabbit) - classic french cooking and extremely well done. We weren't rushed through our courses and finished our drinks in our own time. Shame about the macaroons but a great meal overall!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank graaaahum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“just right”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a great French restaurant in Edinburgh - I've been a number of times (conservatively 15+) and the service and the food are consistently good (even when the restaurant is particularly busy). The menu changes regularly and has a good mix of classic french dishes. There's also a good selection of wine at reasonable prices - I can recommend the Château La Croix Blanche if you're looking for a Bordeaux red and the Monbazillac if you want to indulge in a glass of dessert wine to round out the evening. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PortMoresby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were recommended the restaurant but were toying with going to an Italian instead as never tried French before. So glad we went! Food is amazing. Tried frogs legs which were delicious and the rack of lamb was enormous. Fantastic wine and lovely waitress. It is reasonably expensive but worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andionholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escargot Bleu also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to L'Escargot Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing