We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #88 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My cousin and I are in Edinburgh staying at this hotel right now. We are here for some shopping and decided to come to this hotel to stay the night before we break our banks lol. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. The room is beautiful and clean, the place is very central and we can leave the hotel anytime we please and come back in. We are also allowed to leave our luggage whilst we are out shopping which is awesome. The only downside is the price, 80 room for one night but it suppose for the location that's great, but breakfast isn't included. I definitely recommend this hotel if you're wanting a wee break away!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyshanabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for a great 5 star review. It is always a pleasure to hear from happy guests. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    357
    156
    30
    18
See reviews for
133
384
51
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed here for a week with work, and it was a cheap, no frills budget hotel. For the price and location it's fair enough for a quick stay but you wouldn't want to stay as long as we did! My room was pretty tiny with barely enough room to put the ironing board up.

In the room there's a laptop-sized safe, hair dryer, a few coat hangers and a desk with TV.

GOOD POINTS:
- Location is great, super central so you can walk everywhere, the airport bus leaves from right outside and there are loads of shops and express supermarkets outside.

BAD POINTS
- It could have been cleaner - I found someone else's pubic hair on the toilet and even a rolled up cigarette the previous occupant left on top of the soap! My room wasn't vacuumed while I was there.
- It was noisy, with creaky floorboards in the hallway meaning that I was regularly woken up by people throughout the night.
- Really, really hot on the third floor - could do with aircon.
- The breakfast is rubbish. A few packs of cereal, juices, tiny pastries, and baguettes, Weirdly there's no toaster or bread so you can't have toast! Buy something better from the supermarket next door.
- There's a bus stop right outside, so drunk people come and sit in reception whilst they wait for the bus!

Room Tip: Maybe choose a lower floor which should be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review. I see that overall you were happy with your stay but you highlighted some negatives which we have taken on board, in particular the housekeeping issues which are a little out of the ordinary as generally we get great feedback for our cleanliness, however there is always room for improvement and we will work harder at it. I am not sure I agree with your comment on the breakfast, we have fresh fruit salad (freshly chopped fruit, not tinned), freshly baked baguettes, cold ham, cheese, salad, preserves, dried fruits, nuts, fruit juices, bean to cup coffee, I could go on, however I agree that toast would be a great addition and we will be adding it to our breakfast buffet. Thanks again for your comments. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Judging by the other reviews im guessing I stay here on a off couple of days. Me and my boyfriend nicknamed our room 'the poo room' the stench from the drains was so bad we did our best to stay out the room as much as possible! Also the nearest parking is quite a walk away, amazing city will just stay somewhere else next time

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Alldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thanks for your review, sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay, I wish you had told us about your concerns during your stay so that we could have resolved the issue or moved your room. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

If you need an affordable place, this is it. Central Edinburgh. You can walk to any place around. Bus stop is right in front of the door. most of the supermarkets are 1-2 mins of walk. one is only 15 meters away. Rooms are clean, bathroom is clean. Towels are replaced everyday. no air condition (probably not necessary in Edinburgh). The ventilation of the room is poor. It was quite hot at nights. Rooms are a little "tight". no regrigrator. no wardrobes. Hangers are provided only. Infant cots are available free of charge but these are foldable cots. You may need to put something soft under the baby. They may be uncomfortable for the kid. a few stairs are inside if your child has a buggy. There is elevator. our room view was horrible but it should be more quite than the front rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I hope you enjoyed your visit to Scotland. Thank you for leaving a review. We do offer cots for babies, but we also have some great family rooms that have both a king sized double bed and a bunk bed in a much larger room. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here for work for 1 night. This was an old travelodge but with a few extras! Front desk friendly and welcoming which is always good to see. Price I paid for the room was good, so no complaints. Room itself was not a bad size too. Bed very good and a nice sleep. I would say bathrooms need a focus. Mould in the inside of shower on door but generally the bathrooms need to have a bit of TLC which is the only down point I would say. I wouldnt say they are dirty but need an uplift. Other than that I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is much appreciated, we have taken on board your comment about the bathroom and will be giving it a bit of TLC. Happy to hear that you would stay with us again. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is in dead in the centre of Edinburgh and the stop of the airport bus is right outside. It's so close to the castle and shops and museums it's untrue. The room itself was big enough for two for a short break, with TV (it was nice to have a cup of tea to the breakfast news) . There were loads of towels too and a safe!?

They even have bag storage!

My only minor complaint would be the heat. We were at the front of the hotel so kept the window shut for noise which made it quite warm. We didn't ask to change to be fair (we were exhausted) and it far from ruined our trip. Staff seemed friendly and kind.

Would recommend and book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your comment about opening the windows, but the noise isn't too bad when they are open, we also have a few fans if required. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel which was celebrating its 1st birthday. Great location.
Within walking distance of the popular sights. Sort bus journey to the zoo which is perfect as the purpose of our trip.
The Bed was comfortable and had soft sheets.
We requested a shower and bath in our room and they gave us exactly that.
The bath was a little small though, so don't expect anything grand in that area.
The shower was lovely and warm through out all times of the day.
I liked the nice big windows.
I'd stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thanks for the 'happy birthday' message, yes it's been a year since we took over the hotel and refurbished it to create 'Cityroomz Edinburgh'. Glad to hear that you would stay with us again. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#136 of 149 in Edinburgh
98 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,521 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Property: Cityroomz Edinburgh
Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing