We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Judging by the other reviews im guessing I stay here on a off couple of days. Me and my boyfriend nicknamed our room 'the poo room' the stench from the drains was so bad we did our best to stay out the room as much as possible! Also the nearest parking is quite a walk away, amazing city will just stay somewhere else next time

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lucy_Alldis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thanks for your review, sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay, I wish you had told us about your concerns during your stay so that we could have resolved the issue or moved your room. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 902 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

If you need an affordable place, this is it. Central Edinburgh. You can walk to any place around. Bus stop is right in front of the door. most of the supermarkets are 1-2 mins of walk. one is only 15 meters away. Rooms are clean, bathroom is clean. Towels are replaced everyday. no air condition (probably not necessary in Edinburgh). The ventilation of the room is poor. It was quite hot at nights. Rooms are a little "tight". no regrigrator. no wardrobes. Hangers are provided only. Infant cots are available free of charge but these are foldable cots. You may need to put something soft under the baby. They may be uncomfortable for the kid. a few stairs are inside if your child has a buggy. There is elevator. our room view was horrible but it should be more quite than the front rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Scotland. Thank you for leaving a review. We do offer cots for babies, but we also have some great family rooms that have both a king sized double bed and a bunk bed in a much larger room. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed here for work for 1 night. This was an old travelodge but with a few extras! Front desk friendly and welcoming which is always good to see. Price I paid for the room was good, so no complaints. Room itself was not a bad size too. Bed very good and a nice sleep. I would say bathrooms need a focus. Mould in the inside of shower on door but generally the bathrooms need to have a bit of TLC which is the only down point I would say. I wouldnt say they are dirty but need an uplift. Other than that I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is much appreciated, we have taken on board your comment about the bathroom and will be giving it a bit of TLC. Happy to hear that you would stay with us again. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is in dead in the centre of Edinburgh and the stop of the airport bus is right outside. It's so close to the castle and shops and museums it's untrue. The room itself was big enough for two for a short break, with TV (it was nice to have a cup of tea to the breakfast news) . There were loads of towels too and a safe!?

They even have bag storage!

My only minor complaint would be the heat. We were at the front of the hotel so kept the window shut for noise which made it quite warm. We didn't ask to change to be fair (we were exhausted) and it far from ruined our trip. Staff seemed friendly and kind.

Would recommend and book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your comment about opening the windows, but the noise isn't too bad when they are open, we also have a few fans if required. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel which was celebrating its 1st birthday. Great location.
Within walking distance of the popular sights. Sort bus journey to the zoo which is perfect as the purpose of our trip.
The Bed was comfortable and had soft sheets.
We requested a shower and bath in our room and they gave us exactly that.
The bath was a little small though, so don't expect anything grand in that area.
The shower was lovely and warm through out all times of the day.
I liked the nice big windows.
I'd stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thanks for the 'happy birthday' message, yes it's been a year since we took over the hotel and refurbished it to create 'Cityroomz Edinburgh'. Glad to hear that you would stay with us again. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was our first time in Edinburgh, and we were amazed by the city.
I'm feeling lucky that we found this hotel. It's right in the heart of the citycentre, so everything is in walking distance! A small shop just right next to the building. All restaurants, bars, clubs are right there, or very close. Castle is in walking distance too and lots of other sightseeing too.
Room and the bathroom were clean and not that small as I expected. The wall colors made me feel good too. Wasn't boring at least :)
I would really recommend it to anyone, who is there to explore the city. If you are a tourist you don't want to spend too much time in the hotel anyway... But when you are there you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antapfenomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. Our location really is great for exploring all that Edinburgh has to offer. Thanks for recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here for 10 days at the beginning of April - what a little gem.
The staff were all so very helpful and always pleasant.
The room, whilst small, was clean and bright and wonderfully cosy when it was cold.
I had a bunk bed and I have never been so comfortable - the mattress was amazing.
The location is perfect - well within walking distance to the train station and Princes St for shopping and indeed catching local buses - which I did a lot of.

I also went away for a week and they happily stored my luggage until I returned and had no problems when I asked for the room I previously stayed in.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay and would happily stay there again

Room Tip: I had a room to the rear of the building and at the end of a hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of the hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from satisfied guests. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,245 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $54 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing