We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central hotel for a minimal price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cityroomz Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #85 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Central hotel for a minimal price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is in dead in the centre of Edinburgh and the stop of the airport bus is right outside. It's so close to the castle and shops and museums it's untrue. The room itself was big enough for two for a short break, with TV (it was nice to have a cup of tea to the breakfast news) . There were loads of towels too and a safe!?

They even have bag storage!

My only minor complaint would be the heat. We were at the front of the hotel so kept the window shut for noise which made it quite warm. We didn't ask to change to be fair (we were exhausted) and it far from ruined our trip. Staff seemed friendly and kind.

Would recommend and book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your comment about opening the windows, but the noise isn't too bad when they are open, we also have a few fans if required. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    323
    137
    22
    14
See reviews for
122
335
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel which was celebrating its 1st birthday. Great location.
Within walking distance of the popular sights. Sort bus journey to the zoo which is perfect as the purpose of our trip.
The Bed was comfortable and had soft sheets.
We requested a shower and bath in our room and they gave us exactly that.
The bath was a little small though, so don't expect anything grand in that area.
The shower was lovely and warm through out all times of the day.
I liked the nice big windows.
I'd stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thanks for the 'happy birthday' message, yes it's been a year since we took over the hotel and refurbished it to create 'Cityroomz Edinburgh'. Glad to hear that you would stay with us again. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was our first time in Edinburgh, and we were amazed by the city.
I'm feeling lucky that we found this hotel. It's right in the heart of the citycentre, so everything is in walking distance! A small shop just right next to the building. All restaurants, bars, clubs are right there, or very close. Castle is in walking distance too and lots of other sightseeing too.
Room and the bathroom were clean and not that small as I expected. The wall colors made me feel good too. Wasn't boring at least :)
I would really recommend it to anyone, who is there to explore the city. If you are a tourist you don't want to spend too much time in the hotel anyway... But when you are there you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. Our location really is great for exploring all that Edinburgh has to offer. Thanks for recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here for 10 days at the beginning of April - what a little gem.
The staff were all so very helpful and always pleasant.
The room, whilst small, was clean and bright and wonderfully cosy when it was cold.
I had a bunk bed and I have never been so comfortable - the mattress was amazing.
The location is perfect - well within walking distance to the train station and Princes St for shopping and indeed catching local buses - which I did a lot of.

I also went away for a week and they happily stored my luggage until I returned and had no problems when I asked for the room I previously stayed in.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay and would happily stay there again

Room Tip: I had a room to the rear of the building and at the end of a hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of the hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from satisfied guests. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
309 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel was cheap and seemed on great location, and for these reasons we booked it. The room is simple and basic, and that would be ok if it would have been clean, but it was not. The shower had a mosquito that could have been from the Jurasic, and the bed's sheets were old and very used. The matress was not very comfortable and it was a bit cold.
We stayed there for 3 nights and on the second night some noise woke me up at 5 in the morning. We were next to the laundry/service room and I believe the washing machines were on but I complained and they kept denying there was any noise coming from there. In the end I was offered another room that was next to the noisy elevator so I kept mine. Basic breakfast, danish and croissants not fresh or nice.
All in all, I would not recommend this hotel if you can avoid it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. The vast majority of guests comment extremely positively about the quality of the rooms and the comfortable beds (they are only 12 months old). As you can see from other reviewers comments we are generally rated highly on all aspects of our room and service. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

City center located and right in front of the Link100 bus stop for fast transfer from and to the airport. Good beds and we had no outside noise with the windows open (room facing backside). Decent breakfast for £4.95 was good value/price. Simple, clean, pleasant, comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaanvdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We picked this one as it was ``the cheapest`` right in the centre for that busy.weekend. We spent average 90£ per night without breakfast, so at the end not that cheap. Location is really great but that`s the only thing. Dirty and noisy. Also rude cleaners rushing you out at 8.30 am even with do not disturb panel outside...We tried once breakfast...awful. All in all, great location but expensive and trashy. Not recommended at all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Giuseppe83_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, however this review does seem to be out of context when seen with the majority of other reviewers positive comments on both the rooms and the levels of service that we offer. We also get lots of good feedback on our great value continental breakfast. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Property: Cityroomz Edinburgh
Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing