We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #83 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value - great location”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed for 2 days, my son & I in separate rooms on the 4th floor. The rooms were comfortable, and not too warm. My bathroom was very small but quite big enough - shower was excellent. My son had a bath with shower over & much bigger bathroom. We were on the side away from the street so there was no traffic noise except for general city buzz. My only gripe was that my room backed onto the lift shaft & I heard every clunk of the lift operating & doors opening. I found that if I left the window open, there was a constantly running fan, the noise of which drowned out the lift. I would imagine it would be the same for each floor, so avoid room 404, 304, 204 & 104!
The breakfast was excellent & well worth the money. The staff were really helpful & friendly too. I found someone had tried to cook something in my kettle, all burned on and the receptionist was really sorry & had it replaced by the time we returned.
It took us about 15 minutes to walk from Waverley Station, Haymarket is actually nearer. The location is brilliant for everything central, and buses are easy to find if you prefer. Would definitely stay here again, though hopefully away from the lift!

Room Tip: Avoid 404! 410 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry about the kettle. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    353
    150
    26
    14
See reviews for
126
374
51
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The frontage just looks like a shop and could be easily missed, but it is an ideal location just off centre, about 15 minute walk to Waverley Station, 10 mins to Usher Hall Theatre and 15-30 mins walk from Dungeons / Whiskey Experience / Castle etc Ideal location. The airport bus stops directly outside, Airlink 100 £4. Not right in the centre just on the edge, close to all the shops / pubs and restaurants.
The reception is a small lobby and check in was quick and smooth and I was about 2 hours early due to change in flight time.
The foyers/corridors and lifts are clean, fresh and tidy.
The double room I had was very nice, large, bright and clean as was the bathroom. Large comfy bed, which gave me a very good nights sleep, I was expecting a lot of noise from the location but there wasn't. The curtains keep all the light out which is good too.
All the usual stuff, TV, Hairdryer, toiletries, tea/coffee, FREE strong WIFI, good modern décor, full length mirror. The shower was powerful and hot.
The only negatives were for the price paid, for a mid week room, I would have expected to get breakfast however it was about £5 extra for continental only, and there wasnt a phone socket near the bed.
As for other reviews I didn't need any passwords for the wifi worked right off, and the toilet/shower combo in my room wasn't an issue.
All in all, its a good quality, centrally located, clean, tidy comfortable hotel and I would stay there again next time I go to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCME1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving a great review and recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at Cityroomz when visiting Edinburgh for a theatre trip. I had read that it was 5 mins from Waverley Station but would say at walking speed (and I'm not that slow) was more like 25 mins.
That said its a great central location just off Princes Street. I thought it would be noisy on such a busy street but found that wasn't an issue. we were on the fourth floor but did have the window open all night. The reception isn't inspirational but is sufficient. There is a locked door (opened with your room key) into lift/stair area. The room was a fair size clean and warm. It had a safe which was useful. Didn't use the wifi so couldn't comment. The bathroom too, was clean and reasonable size (certainly had smaller at much more expensive hotels). the only issue we had was the positioning of the toilet behind the door and very close to the shower. To sit on the toilet you had to more or less, have your feet in the shower -which wasn't ideal.

Cityroomz does offer buffet breakfast for £4.99 -which we found surprisingly good. Plenty of choice of fresh fruit, cereal, croissants etc.

We were also impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. All in all we were impressed by the value for money at Cityrromz and wouldn't hesitate to recommend as good quality budget hotel in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shearwater58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving a review and recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I found Cityroomz /Edinburgh to be a good alternative to a higher-priced four or five-star hotel. After staying in such hotels during our previous week's tour of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland, walking into the lobby area of Cityroomz Edinburgh for the first time was a disappointment. But we soon found the front-desk attendant Shelagh to be so very helpful, and the location to be ideal. We grew to really enjoy the accommodations and to call it home for our five-day stay. The free Wi-Fi service required obtaining passwords for each device at the front desk, but this was no problem at all.

We try to be green in our travels, so we didn't require any maid service throughout our stay, and that worked out just fine. Our room on the second floor was spartan but very clean, the bed was spacious enough for two and quite comfortable, and the temperature of the room was just right. The high ceiling created an illusion of narrowness to which we adjusted after the first day.

The bath was small and lacked a tub, and we found the water temperature in the sink and the shower to be difficult to adjust, but we managed just fine. We visited at the end of March and the room was quiet and restful. The hotel serves a breakfast for 4.95 pounds, but we never availed ourselves of this opportunity, preferring to eat along Princes Street. Because we were on the go so much, we didn't spend much time in the room, so that should be factored into this review of the facility.

Some comments on the location of this hotel are appropriate. The property is located just a block or so from the beginning of Princes Street, the main business street at the south side of New Town. Across the street are a couple of ATM's and a Pound Stretcher store where we bought low-price "necessaries." Princes Street Gardens are readily accessible as are many opportunities to shop for things that we needed for our walking adventures throughout New Town and Old Town. Many restaurants in New Town, especially along George street and Rose Street are easily accessible on foot. Many historic sites are also within an easy walk, and Edinburgh Castle is continually in view.

The location also provides easy access to the Grassmarket in Old Town by taking King's Stables Road around the "back side" of the castle. A lovely walk through Princes Street Gardens takes one to the Princes Street Mall, the tourist information center, and the staging area for the AirLink bus system. It should be mentioned that Airlink Buses run every 10 minutes and stop right in front of the hotel.

We routinely walked into Old Town and downhill along the Royal Mile to Holyrood Park, which does require quite an uphill trek once leaving the gardens of adjacent Princes Street. However, on the plus side we did so much walking that we actually lost weight on our trip in spite of eating well. If you are not up for walking, the bus system is amazingly efficient and for 3.50 pounds a day you get unlimited service. Taxis are also readily available, although we didn't need to call upon them.

All in all, we would recommend a stay at Cityroomz Edinburgh if you are looking for a great value and clean and comfortable lodging, whose location couldn't be much better for sightseeing in New Town and Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamieAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed and informative review of your stay with us at Cityroomz. Is sounds like you had a great time exploring all that Edinburgh has to offer. Thanks also for recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed for two nights over the weekend. Was moved room pretty much instantly as the toilet flusher in our first room broke. We were moved from the 4th floor to the 1st floor. The 1st floor was significantly more noisy.. (due to the breakfast area being on same floor), although this was only an issue in the early morning. Room was clean, and pleasant. Not huge, but big enough for the two of us. Bed was really comfortable. Very central, within walking distance to everything. Would stay again if price was similar to what we paid the first time.

Room Tip: If you like a lie in and are a light sleeper, avoid the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Apologies for the room move, but it looks like you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for leaving a review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east kilbride , scotland
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel
Great value for money on a great location as all the sights are within walking distance.
Everything you need in the hotel.
Huge family room was excellent
Continental breakfast was good too,
Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for the review, I think you summed up the hotel beautifully. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Haven't got anything bad to say about this hotel, it's everything you need for a city break where you will be out sight seeing in the day and trying out the bars and restaurants at night - the location is brilliant. Close to everything, walked to all the sights and bars and restaurants. Room was clean, bed comfy, it is a simple room with everything you need, no noise. Definitely stay there if go back to Edinburgh and it is so much cheaper than any other hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
55 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Property: Cityroomz Edinburgh
Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing