We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cityroomz (Edinburgh 11-12th Jan2014)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #83 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
snarkhunter
1 review
“Cityroomz (Edinburgh 11-12th Jan2014)”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My girlfriend & I went up to edinburgh for the weekend. We booked accomodation quite late, so alot of the hotels and B&Bs were expensive, but cityroomz was cheap in comparison.
Our room was clean and fairly large. The staff in the reception were friendly & the hotel is centrally located.
Its a good value budget hotel,.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snarkhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    354
    150
    26
    14
See reviews for
126
374
51
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Located just off Prince's Street, meaning most attractions are well within walking distance. Area was quiet, and there's a Morrisons just next door which opens til 11pm if you need to pop to the shop. Bus to and from the airport is literally outside the door which was fantastic (journey takes about 20 mins). The room was cosy, and the bed was comfortable. Buffet breakfast was just ok. Upon arrival, the staff at reception were very welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately, the same could not be said for the girl on reception when we checked out. There was barely a thank you and there certainly wasn't a smile anywhere to be seen. We asked if our bags could be stored somewhere for an hour until we were leaving for the airport which seemed like a huge inconvenience to her. She did provide us with an area, but with as little communication as she could possible manage. After having an enjoyable few days in Edinburgh, it was a pity to be met with such a sour attitude just before we left. However, this aside I would definitely recommend Cityroomz as it was modern, clean, comfortable, well-situated and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_lavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was fantastic. The location is excellent - really only about 10 minutes walking from Waverley train station, and right on the end of Princes Street. There are several bus stops right out the front door, too. The staff at Cityroomz was unfailingly friendly, and the room was very nice. The breakfast is very good - worth the extra money. When I decided to stay a bit longer in Edinburgh (excellent city!), I asked if I could extend my reservation and they were fortunately able to accommodate me. I hope to return one day, and when I do, I will certainly be booking here.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have bunk beds available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
It is always a pleasure to hear from happy guests. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the delights that Edinburgh has to offer. Lets hope you come back soon and maybe take the time to try some of the other great cities that we have in the UK including Newcastle & Cardiff (we have hotels in both these cities called Sleeperz Hotels). Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location - just off Prince's street and about 10 mins walk from both train stations too. Really friendly staff who provided us with maps of the city and advised us on different places that we should try and visit whilst in the city. Lovely room, comfy bed and nice view. Will be visiting again soon.

Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hotel was more expensive than usual due to Hogmanay, but comparable with other hotels at the time.
They let us check in 2 hours early, which was nice since it was pouring with rain when we arrived. Our room did smell of dampness, but not surprised due to the weather and guests likely to be drying wet clothes.
The staff were very helpful, and polite, and the location was great. Would be great value at a non busy period.

Room Tip: Hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren. We were at the back of the fourth floor, which was a while away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, General Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to let guests check in early if we have a serviced room ready. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Based just off the end of Princes street it is in a prime location, the room was bigger than I expected and very clean. We were on the front of the building overlooking the shops and a pub! I have stayed in hotels with pub close to them and have regretted it, but not this time! It was very quiet mainly due to the secondary windows that are fitted (these also come in very handy as a make shift fridge for your beer, wine etc if you go in the colder months!) there is quite a big gap between the outer and inner windows so this keeps the noise and cold out. Room has a radiator in it with a thermostatic valve so you can control the heat a little better than a blower style heater. Bed was very comfy and warm. I requested a second pillow and this was delivered within 5 mins by Jim. Jim was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and he was very helpful with local knowledge etc and directions. The hotel has a deal going on with a local NCP car park near the castle which is around £24 for 24 hours! If you take your little plastic chip to reception they put it in a magic reduction machine that's makes it £10 for 24 hours! Car park is around a 5-7 minute walk so not too bad. There is a lift to all floors so it is accessible to all. Bathroom was nice and clean with a great shower, toiletries and towels as you would expect. There are tea making facilities in the room and a hairdryer too. As mentioned in other reviews there is a morrisons and sainsburys local next door and opposite to the hotel so supplies a plenty. They do sell soft drinks and snacks at reception though. There are pubs and bars very close that do food and breakfasts. Mcdonalds is about a 3 minute walk down Princes street if that's what you fancy. Train station is about a ten minute stroll straight down Princes street. Would I stay there again? Definitely without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikeronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your very comprehensive review of Cityroomz. Its great to hear from satisfied guests. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

-Affordable
-Location was really great, directly opposite the bus stop which has bus 100 which you will alight off when you take the bus from airport, near restaurants, fast food outlets and shopping, near Edinburgh Castle
-Service was good, and we would like to commend Peter as he was really hospitable when we first arrived and he handed us maps to help us get around the city
-Free wifi but it only lasts 24 hours, so you have to go to the reception to get a new password everyday

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theloving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh, and thank you for writing a lovely review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Property: Cityroomz Edinburgh
Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing