We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience on life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Two couples of freinds bhaven been there for two nights. Alog this period any room's cleaning was made, neither washroom nor room itself.
Our rooms looked as ceils. Due to the fact that payment was required in advance, there was no possibility to move to another hotel.
Surroundings were in works, so it was impossible to arrive at the hote by car, and no kind of advertisement was made us when we made our booking.
Prices don't correspond neither the hotel nor the service. Incredible at Europe.

Room Tip: Try another item
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager1969, General Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We believe you stayed with us in July and as you didn’t speak to us to let us know that your room had not been cleaned for 2 days we could not rectify the situation. We service/clean rooms daily unless a guest requests otherwise, could it be that you left your “do not disturb sign on the bedroom door” which would prevent our staff from entering and servicing your room? Our web site clearly shows information about the tram works especially that there is no vehicular access to the hotel. It also shows where to park and the fact that we have discounted prices at these car parks. Whilst road access to the hotel wasn’t possible during your stay due to the tram works, these are now nearing completion with the road re-opening on October 16th. The dates you stayed with us coincided with the Edinburgh festival and the Open Golf tournament and therefore prices were higher throughout the city. Our prices are very competitive from just £55 per room on some nights. On a general matter and this applies to any hotel, if you have a problem speak to the reception team; you’d be amazed at how helpful they are. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 915 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Paid £77 a night for a double which was OK considering the central location. Good places to eat in Shandwick Place and nearby Queensferry Street. The interminable road works in Shandwick Place detracted from the overall ambiance of the hotel but did not actually present any problems for walking to Princes Street etc. Bedroom was OK apart from a huge dollop of bird excrement which looked as it had been on the outside of the window for some time. No CH on but room was a bit hot and the window could only be opened a few inches. Bathroom was a bit grubby but cleaning and towel supply were fine. Breakfast was good value at £4.95 with rolls ,croissants, jam, cereal, yoghurt, fruit and fruit juice, ham, cheese, tomatoes etc and as much coffee and tea etc as you wanted. Breakfast room was also clean and friendly staff kept the tables cleared. Reception staff were also helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Probably on the front on the building once the roadworks in Shandwick Place are finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HectorMacduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

There were limited hotels on offer so I paid £99 a night not including breakfast so quite steep for a budget hotel. To be fair the room was clean and the bed comfortable but it lacked basics like a bottle of water, a big enough tv to watch with a remote that worked and no shower jel in the containers. I was here on business so having spent a fair bit of time in the room I probably would have taken less notice if I'd been out enjoying edinburgh. It is a good location and the staff were very helpful when I had an issue with the heat. So I'd rate this an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Warm,friendly,Courtious,friendly staff.Clean and comfy room.Great value breakfastNothing too much trouble.Will visit again.When using the buses remember you need the exact fare.The drivers do not have access to change

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent location, the rooms were neat and tidy and in general they offer a great service. The staff is very kind and helpful, for example, we got there before the check-in time and the gave us a room. They had breakfast to sit in or take away if you are in a hurry, and it's very good. I totally recommend it. The hotel's premises are renew and decorated with a good taste.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and couldn't fault it atall! It's in a gr8 location and only 5 minutes walk from the train station and princess street. Surrounded by nice pups and places to eat. The room had everything you needed in it with a powerful shower. The staff were helpful and knew the area well told us where to go for what. Would defffo come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shorty-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good city position.
Good security,electronic key entry to lift and room.
The single lift is compact and slow, but there are only four floors so try the stairs on occasion.
Our rear top floor room was quiet, with opening window, good blind & curtain.
Shower worked well, good bed, but firm pillow (1).
As the building was rather warm we kicked the bed doona off and slept under the cover most nights.
We did not pay extra for breakfast as this part of town is full of cafes and food shops.
Tea & coffee supplied.
In August we paid a high (for this hotel) £96 per night , no complaints, but the bathroom door hook was missing and decoration was a bit rough and cheap.

Room Tip: Back rooms have to be quieter, a few rooms have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#135 of 151 in Edinburgh
185 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
No photo provided
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $50 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing