We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, fanastic time”
The very comfortable lounge, with the 3 seater bed-settee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The very comfortable lounge, with the 3 seater bed-settee
Lounge overview Old Tolbooth Wynd from the Royal Mile - the apartment is two minutes down this close
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The very comfortable lounge, with the 3 seater bed-settee
Lounge overview
Old Tolbooth Wynd from the Royal Mile - the apartment is two minutes down this close
Your beautiful twin bedroom, with memory foam matresses, twin touch lamps and luxury bed-linen
Looking down Old Tolbooth Wynd from the close towards Calton Hill
The big bright lounge looking east through the window
Lounge - Super-comfortable, two seater leather settee beside the east-facing window
Overview of the twin bedroom
Looking towards the leafy courtyard from the twin bedroom (faces west)
OTW F KSB 1
The bright principal bedroom faces west
Total Luxury - ultra comfortable extra-king sized bed
The kitchen - overview
The fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave, full oven/ hob and washer/dryer
The dining table
The bathroom
The courtyard to the rear of the apartment at Old Tolbooth Wynd
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Colin G
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fanastic time”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Edinburgh at Festival time is mad - Festival, Fringe and Tattoo creating an extra-ordinary buzz. We (2 adults and 2 older teenagers) came for the Festival and Fringe. We stayed in apartment 1 rather than 4 (same owners).

The location was perfect - a step out of the front door, under the arch of the Old Tolgate Booth and out onto the Royal Mile straight into the throngs of visitors and those plugging their Fringe shows. Fantastic number of coffee shops, restaurant food from all nations and at all prices, and corner shops and small supermarket in close proximity. Lots of helpful suggestions have been left by the owners.

The apartment is of good size, very clean, well furnished, and had everything we needed. We traveled by car so having a secure parking space was great - although the apartment is close by the station. We used the car only when events were outside the City. The whole of central Edinburgh is easily visited from Atholl Brae.

We had a warm welcome from Liz's son (who accommodated us arriving much earlier than we expected). We enjoyed the fizz and short-breads left for us. And then joined the throngs - for a fantastic four days of great comedy and theatre and a night-time walk up Arthur's Seat.

Would stay here again - yes, and hopefully next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2012
HI there
Thank tons for taking the time to post your review.
It's great to receive and share such great feedback.
I hope we'll see you all again.
Kind regarda and very best wishes
Liz & Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea_nz...
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Great location so handy to the royal mile.Bedrooms a little small, lounge needs rugs,kitchen had more than anybody needed.Liz an excellent host.Our friend needed a doctor and she called someone for us.
The tattoo was fantastic except for the weather. The only rain on our 46 day trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location,
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2012
Hi there
Thanks a lot for taking the time to post a review - we very much appreciate your positive feedback. It's now becoming much easier to access non-emergency medical advice over the phone in the UK with the advent of NHS24, which is primarily a phone-based advice service, so I was pleased to be able to help.
The Tattoo, always goes ahead, no matter how wet or cold it is - you just have to wrap up well, wear something waterproof, and prepare to be enthralled!
I hope we'll see you again when you come back back to Edinburgh - there's still lots more to see and do.
Kind regards and very best wishes for now
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyDubli...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Quality Space”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Just as good as the website showed, and even more spacious than it seems. All mod cons, cracking location and very efficient landlady who is always at the end of an email.
Particularly impressed with wifi service which makes managing the holiday so much easier, especially during the Fringe.
Highly recommended...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time to post this review, which I'll be delightedly sharing with our "team" (OK, the rest of our small family team!).
We try really hard to provide an efficient, but also welcoming and friendly service.
I hope when you return to Edinburgh, you'll return to Atholl Brae.
All the very best for now.
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mimday
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful; central, warm and homely.”
Reviewed March 14, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Atholl Brae apartment is really quite wonderful and rather under sells itself. Central really is true; 5 minutes' walk from Waverley Station and 2 minutes' walk from the Royal Mile and from there the city really is yours.
Liz's welcome was warm with tea, coffee, fizz and shortbread on our arrival. The flat was both clean and homely with two well sized bedrooms and bathrooms. The living room is also a good size, thus, there really would be plenty of room for six people to stay. The kitchen was more than adequately stocked, I can't think of one thing that wasn't there in any kitchen, let alone a holiday stay.
Nothing bad to say at all. We had a great time in Edinburgh (having been many times before) but it was such a welcome relief staying so central for the duration of our stay.

Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewed November 24, 2009 for a stay in November 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: 3rd bed squashed in bedroom - preferred sofa bed!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stoke on Trent England
Reviewed September 28, 2009 for a stay in September 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Cleanliness location amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
commissai...
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent wi-fi, emplacement, espace.
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome your family back to Edinburgh very soon.
Kind regards and very best wishes
Liz & co
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing