We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful residence, in great location, lovely friendly atmosphere”
Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Guest House
Ranked #59 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous stay in Edinburgh. The Queens guest house is a lovely Georgion Building in a great location, quiet but within walking distance to all local attractions. The owners have retained many of the houses original features, married tastefully with contempory decor .
Our room was bright and spacious, with beautiul high ceilings., and a huge bay window. The bathroom was also very spacious in comparision to many hotels I have stayed in wth a huge bath. Clealiness was to a very high standard. I never normally sleep well in hotel rooms, as I usually find them hot and stuffy. This was not a problem here,I had as good a nights sleep as I get at home if not better.
My only one minor critisim, is the bed could have been bigger a king size as opposed to a double. Then the owners would achieve perfection.
The service was warm and friendly, Gary could not have been more helpful, regarding places to visits, parking etc. The service had a personal touch which you don't get in larger establishments.
Breakfast was to a high standard, fresh produce, excellent service, nine oclock, a little early, when on our hols though, we would have prefered 9.30 or 10.00 for breakfast.
We have stayed in many hotels and real would put this as one of the best hotels we have stayed in, in the uk. We would certainly recommend it, and would certainly stay again. I have mention two minor flaws which detract from giving a 100% in terms of quality and excellence in a guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felix1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 347 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

My husband and I found this bed and breakfast had excellent service; Gary and staff were extremely helpful, especially in providing directions and helpful tips in navigating the city. We had a very spacious room that was kept immaculate. Breakfasts were delicious and served promptly by friendly Christine.
The Queen's Guest House is in a good location for sightseeing and shopping.
Parking space was the only issue - but it appeared to be that way all over Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The Queens Guest House is a converted 18th C townhouse in New Town with easy access to restaurants, pubs, and Charlotte Square. We stayed two nights. The proprietor helped with our luggage when we arrived, dining recommendations when we requested, and called taxis for us to get to the Castle and airport. We had the ground floor room that has been modified for handicap accessibility. High ceilings with original mouldings, queen size bed, sofa, original fireplace, small desk and plenty of room to get around in a wheelchair. And, the en-suite bathroom was huge! Plenty of room to turn around in a wheelchair. Grab bars beside the toilet and sink. Shower with large glass door and no curb to stumble over. Heated towel rack. The bedroom was not only a delightful space, but easily used for those with mobility difficulties. Full Scottish breakfast was quite good and served in a room with large windows facing Queen Street Gardens. Like most historic properties in the UK, there are three or four steps up to the entry porch, but we will definitely stay at Queens when we are next in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjantexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Queens Guest House is a remarkably well-run B&B. The propietor is hands-on, managing the QGH beautifully, cooking for the guests, informing visitors of the opportunities of the city, and going out of his way to ensure that our visit would be memorable for all the right reasons. Bravo!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johdangib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Edinburgh. The Queens Guest House is the fitting place to stay in at such a beautiful and historic City. Gary, the owner, is a good host. The location is ideal for tourists. Five minutes to Prince Street shopping and less than ten to the golden mile. Rare for a city to have a sprawling hill top castle in the background. It is a beauty.

We booked a family room for the five of us. The room is charming with its chandlelier and fireplace. A very adequate room with a good garden view for a family of five. The bathroom was a full sized bathroom so even if five took turns using it, it had space for towels and personal hygiene items. The rooms were clean with good linens and tasteful bedcovers. The room had three large windows and had good blinds for sunny days. Great waking up experience with the natural lighting (if you enjoy that).

Gary cooks the breakfast and you have a choice of cooked food with the continental buffet. It was good every day that we were there. Service was warm and efficient at breakfast time. With only thirteen rooms and the personal attention of the owner, how could you go wrong with this bed and breakfast?

Very good value!

Budget permitting, it is our intention to repeating this trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elfilibusterismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Our experience with the Queens Guest House started off well. We were pleased to find accommodation so centrally located in the heart of Edinburgh. My wife and I were travelling with our 1yr old daughter and her Grandmother and so required two double rooms. We were informed that there was only one double room available but we could have the family room for the price of a double. We were also assured the we didn’t need to bring our travel cot and that one would be provided. We also needed a late check in as we were travelling up from London by car and this wasn’t going to be a problem. Very accommodating so far.

The issues started when we arrived and there was no cot for the baby. Gary was very apologetic and promised it for the next day (which he did deliver) however it meant our daughter had to sleep in bed with my wife and I was relegated to the spare bed in the room (lucky we were given the family room otherwise it would have been the floor...).

The rooms are well appointed and have everything you would expect in a boutique hotel. Unfortunately the family room (and the lower floor) stank of cigarette smoke as the staff use the area outside for their cigarette breaks. These issues alone weren’t a big deal and we survived, however it wasn’t until the next morning when we were asked to pay up front that things began to get worse. We were told we needed to pay full rack price for the family room, apparently £199 per night. You could imagine our shock, especially considering we were told we could have the room for the price of a double and we had seen the double room tariff on booking.com for £80/night! The situation was eventually resolved, but it did leave us with a rather sour taste.

I could be very picky and note the fact that the guest houses office & reception are in the dining room, with phones ringing and office documents piled up and that we were surprised when another couple were told to leave their bags outside as “this is a dining room”. Or the fact they wanted to charge my mother in law £35 for a second key to her DOUBLE room.

In summary, the location is fantastic for exploring the city with close proximity to George and Princes streets. The rooms are pleasant but I would not recommend the family room (smelt of smoke). The staff were curt and short with us but maybe it was just a busy weekend? Still no excuse in my opinion. The breakfast was good but a little slow and requesting porridge and a boiled egg seemed like it was too much to ask for... In general they were accommodating to our needs with the baby but we felt as though they assisted because they felt they had to, not because they wanted to.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bojenily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed at Queens Guest House whilst visiting Edinburgh. We found the staff extreemly welcoming and the accomadation was lovely. It's central location was ideal for exploring the city.

Great value for money and we'd definatly reccomend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Lambah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#69 of 394 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#70 of 394 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 394 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 394 in Edinburgh
736 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#27 of 394 in Edinburgh
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Address: 45 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $78 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing