We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK if you want heavy bass music and rap until 2am!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Guest House
Ranked #65 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OK if you want heavy bass music and rap until 2am!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotel, clean and tidy, slightly obscure "unattended" guest house, polite staff, adequate breakfast....but fro just after midnight through to 02:30, loud music with big bass, lots of laughter, attempted singing and rap. Probably not in the hotel rooms but Room 8 must be adjacent to another property or night club. avoid at all costs unless you are a very heavy sleeper or don't want to be asleep before 3am. We won't stay again.

Room Tip: Just stay out of room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    114
    33
    17
    9
See reviews for
58
142
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I found this Guest House from www.Booking.com and as I am slightly disabled asked not to be higher than first floor. When we arrived we were met by a very lovely young lady who showed us to a beautiful ground floor room, which turned out to be the "accessible" room. This was a delightful room and en-suite with wet room. The guest house was clean, comfortable and very welcoming. It was also very central. I walk with crutches and I was able to get wherever I was going with reasonable ease.The breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly, courteous and polite. We never heard any noise from the kitchen, which was just across the corridor from our room. All in all a we had a lovely visit to Edinburgh and if we are staying again we would certainly go back to this guest house.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceW1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this lovely guest house for one night as a 2 adult and one child family.

We were greeted warmly on arrival and showed to our room with no fuss. The room was larger than expected and had 2 double beds and a single which was more than enough for our needs. It was very clean and comfortable with a very new looking modern bathroom.

The breakfast was delicious with good range of choices and the serving staff were polite and attentive.

We'll definitely be returning for future visits to edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helzhelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lovely B&B, very clean, fab central location, nicely decorated and excellent service....great value for money would definitely recommend to friends and family. lots of local bars and restaurants just round the corner

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed in the QGH for two nights during the middle of December 13. I thought it was very clean and warm. The staff always went out of their way to help although the morning breakfasts they were often rushed off their feet and it could take 5 - 10 minutes before being asked what we would like for breakfast they made all their efforts to make sure you were catered for in a very friendly and professional manner. The room was lovely, well presented and clean, and we had no issues with noise although we were in room 8 which is well down the corridor away from the kitchen so I can't speak for others. We didn't have a view out of our window other than a steep embankment up towards a car park but we were'nt fussed. If you are looking for a decent restaurant I recommend The Rosehip which is a 5 minute walk away. The QGH is in a brilliant location and if you are spending your time in the hotel room you are doing something wrong!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Overall this hotel was great, the location is excellent and the staff were friendly. Unfortunately we were placed in room 5, which is on the ground floor next door to the dining room and opposite the kitchen. It is clearly meant for use by disabled guests as the bathroom had various adaptations etc. This in itself would not have been a problem at all, but the location meant we were disturbed both mornings by the staff coming in to prepare for the breakfast service. On the second morning I particular they were seriously noisy and had no consideration for the fact that there were guests in the room opposite! It felt like we had no privacy... A curtain over the door is not exactly compensation for this. We would stay again but only if we were guaranteed a better room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLS5891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Everything was excellent, position of hotel, close to castle, close to shopping, staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice.
Room was very good modern decor, I had room 7, double bed, with shower room.
Worth having a walk to Rose Street at night plenty of bars and restaurants 3 minutes walk.
Would have preferred carpet in the corridors, the wood floors were too noisy at night.
Don't forget the Ghost Tours, go after dark so good.

Room Tip: Room 7 was at the end of the corridor ground level was so quiet. (also 8 and 9)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie2foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#80 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#60 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#21 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Property: Queens Guest House
Address: 45 Queens Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing