We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queens Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Queens Guest House
Ranked #65 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Queens Guest House. We decided to visit Edinburgh for our Anniversary and couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was very friendly and the room was VERY spacious. And they had plenty of hot water, unlike the flat in London we stayed. The breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Griffin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    113
    32
    16
    9
See reviews for
56
141
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Our family found the Queens Guest House outstanding value for 3 adult friends staying and sharing a family room because you have two single beds and a double.
Large strong shower in bathroom(no bath).

Smallish LCD wall-mounted TV.

Room was spacious and beds comfortable for the stay.

Breakfast was exceptional.
A buffet with cereals and pastries plus the inclusive full cooked breakfast with many assorted choices. Truly outstanding for a small business and beyond most of the best hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We have stayed in many Guest Houses and small Hotels all over Britain, France and Italy. Queens is up there in the top five. The decor is modern and unfussy, the rooms spotlessly clean,staff friendly and helpful. After a good night's sleep in crisp white sheets, a hot power shower and excellent cooked breakfast (better than The Radisson) its a short walk up to the centre of Edinburgh. Room No. 2 is in the basement, at the front on one of the city's main streets but it was nevertheless very quiet. We avoided Room no.5 - a lovely room but opposite the kitchen and next to the dining room so not quiet early in the morning. A well-run place -very good value for money - the efficent plumbing alone would make it a place worth staying in!

Room Tip: Higher floor would have good views towards Firth of Forth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had a room for 3 people which was very nice, the only thing was bathroom a bit small, however everything else very good. Nice and quite no road noise at all. Good breakfast

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I've been staying in this B&B 6-7 times a year since it opened. If that's not a decent recommendation, I don't know what is!

I've stayed in most of the rooms. The ones at the back are the quietest, as are the ones down in the cellar area.

I'd agree that you don't want to stay in room 5 - especially if there is a large party of Japanese tourists leaving in the early hours!

Food is decent and what you'd expect from a high quality B&B. Far better than your typical business hotel. Sometimes I want breaky ten/fifteen minutes early due to work and they will accommodate me, within reason, no problem.

The rooms are high quality with excellent accessories that have remained at a consistent high standard for all the years. Each room has a remote control recent model LCD freeview digital TV mounted on the wall. All have HDMI input - dead handy if you've brought a laptop with movies.

On laptops, all rooms are served by one of two free wireless routers.

Hotels have manned receptions 24 hours. B&B's do not. But there IS someone resident on site. Bit of planning and communication and then nothing is a drama. If you require 24 hour attention, go stay in a hotel!

Location is perfect if you are after the main areas. Its a main street but 2 minutes off the main drag in the posher end of Edinburgh so wandering around the street at midnight is no problem. Safe as houses!

Room Tip: DON'T choose room five, unless you sleep like a log
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We found Queens guest house to be very central to all main areas; shops, restaurants and train station all within walking distance, even Edinburgh castle. Although we had a problem upon arriving on the first night, however we did not let this discourage us from enjoying our holiday since the staff and management admitted to their insight and reimbursed us in full straightaway. staff is friendly and helpful. our room was at the back which was of a good size and so was the bathroom; all very clean. breakfast is what is normally expected from a guest house and this was always prompt and abundant. we will surely be back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: room at the back was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea12303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Although the location of the guest house is fairly good we were disapointed from a number of things.

We arrived at the hotel at around 00.30 am and nobody was there to open the door. We had to call ''Jerry'' who came after 10 minutes to open us and show us the room. We initially stayed in room number 7 (a small room with practically no window).The fan of the bathroom didn't turn off so we found it dificult to get some sleep. The next day we asked them to change us the room. Initially they told us that there was no other room available but finally we moved in room Number 5.The problem with this room is that it is next to the breakfast area.So if you stay in this room be prepared to wake up at around 7.00 am. The walls did not seem to provide any insulation so whenever somedody walked through the corridor we thought somebody was walking inside the room. We had to ask twice to give us some shampoo and shower gel since they did not leave any when they cleaned the room. Breakfast was ok the first day but we found it rather boring the next few days. In general the staff was not very professional.

We payed 112 euros per night which was definitelly not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nik0sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#109 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#82 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#71 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Property: Queens Guest House
Address: 45 Queens Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing