We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and Cozy”
Review of Element

Element
Ranked #126 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $64
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Tucked away just off Princes Street in amongst the boutiques of Rose Street you will find Element. The bar has long since established itself as the perfect place to eat, drink and relax right in the heart of the Edinburgh. Whether you’re sampling a local beer or cocktail in the bar after work or enjoying a lazy weekend lunch in the restaurant, our staff will ensure you feel welcome in our home from home.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
225 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Stylish and Cozy”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A tiny bar/restaurant with a stylish atmosphere and cozy lighting, which is perfect for a couple or small group. The food was above average; well presented, decent portion and tasty. The cocktails were vibrant and flavorful, which explains why there was a group of young ladies there! The place is rather small so you tend to have people that bump into you if you're near the main walkway, bests spots were front right side tables away from the door or take a seat in the back if you want to be away from the bar noise.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthew_vanderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    162
    28
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great bar in its own right but the food was good too.
They were abit short staffed but cheery and helpful and we enjoyed the wait for food as drinks came quickly
particularly liked the fact that we didn't feel obliged to order a mains for all of us or rush to leave the table when finished. Total customer satisfaction was their aim it was clear.
Food was fine! Pub grub but lovely! mmmm! Cullen Skink !
Prices average for Edinburgh and wine around £15. Can't grumble at that ! We shall return

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StickofRockDerby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good pub, Bad food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Element is a lovely pub. Great surroundings for having a relaxing drink. We enjoyed a delicious bottle of Pinot noir.

Unfortunately my meal was inedible. I ordered the steak pie which comes with mash & veg.

The gravy in the steak pie looked like dirty dish water. I attempted a piece but couldn't stomach it. The mash looked old, dry & lumpy.

The waitress was extremely polite & helpful. She took the dish away & I was not charged for it. I was asked if I wanted anything else from the menu. I declined as I'd lost my appetite.

I can't fault the service, surroundings or drinks menu but I certainly won't return for a meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susiechop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
366 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a fabulous place, nice wine list (try the Chilean Gewürztraminer) and the food is excellent (we had haggis, and ribs (2 separate meals!)). Friendly service too. We shall return - thanks to the fabulous staff for a lovely evening there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevonHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved this place - Authentic Scottish Experience”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Walking down Rose street, we decided we would give Element a try. We were not disappointed. This was our first experience with Scotish food and had our first try of Haggis in a Haggis croquet. We had excellent Bellhaven beer as well. The fish and chips were great. The service was prompt and kind without hovering. It was a great place to have our first lunch in Scotland!!

Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2GoSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Element also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Element? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing