We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing!”

Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel
Ranked #116 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, British, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Description: .
Peterborough
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I ate at Kyloe this evening and found it to be a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

We were served by Natalie who was charming and knowledgable about all aspects of the menu.

We skipped starters as we had ordered a 475g Chateaubriand and a 700g Sirloin on the bone. These came out cooked to perfection and were very tasty!

Natalie looked after us and was not intrusive in the slightest.

We polished off out steak and had Knickerbockerglory for dessert. This wasn't the best dessert we'd ever eaten but was passable.

A great experience and completely recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lukeyboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    400
    135
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We've never had a bad meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We discovered Kyloe in January last year and since then we have hardly been anywhere else.
Fantastic food time after time, we've taken advantage of offers and also been for wine tasting nights, which are amazing.
Visited on Saturday 2nd of February, the restaurant was busy but service was attentive and quick. The mussels with chorizo, tomato and rocket were a revelation.
The only disappointment we had was we'd been looking forward to the pineapple tarte tatin but the new menu had started the night before but the rhubarb and custard souffle more than made up for it
We'll be back again soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GillianandRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Different kind of dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently dined here on a midweek night and although we phoned beforehand to enquire if we needed to reserve a table it turned out to be very busy when we got there. Having said that we were greeted and seated very quickly.
The decor is unique to this kind of dining and very well laid out restaurant with a fun feel about it. The staff were very well informed about the menu and wine list recommendations and as for the steaks.....delicious!
Although not a cheap night it was certainly most enjoyable and we look forward to returning again with friends on our next visit to Edinburgh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious steak, great for gluten free, excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited Kyloe after researching gluten free friendy restaurant in the Edingburgh area. We were on a city break for my husbands birthday and as he loves steak this seemed like the perfect place to go! We weren't disappointed and were extremely impressed with both the food and the service we received. Our waitress was extremely knowledgable and happy to talk is through the vast steak menu offering advice on the different cuts and what we might like. On her recommendation we opted for sirloin on the bone to share and 4 different side orders. The portion sizes were very good and we struggled to get through all the steak! We didn't even have room for dessert! The waitress knew which menu options were gluten free (virtually all) and was very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return when visiting Edinburgh again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Emilymcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly Warm Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited this steak restaurant through a friends recommendation. It's quite a nice place, interesting seating layout and the mood lighting is relaxing. If you get a window table the view takes you all the way across Princes St and the gardens.

Neither of us had been here before and we were charmed by our waitress, who was a lovely, delightful girl, she informed us of the steak offers and even came out with a full tray of steak cuts to explain each one with meticulous detail, it was a nice touch. The manner of our young waitress was so delicate, warm and friendly, that we all took to her immediately and we began asking her questions, mainly about her unusual accent. Turns out she was from Lithuania. She recommended a lovely red wine, we ended up with a few bottles.

So we all ordered steaks, mine was a sirloin, medium. It was really tasty, cooked to my liking and I don't have any major complaints, although I have tasted better, for Edinburgh this was lovely. Most of my group were satisfied with what we got, the sides were sufficient and the food and wine tasty and a great accompaniment.

On the whole I would have to say that we will most lightly be back here with new friends, as much for the staff (our lovely waitress), as the food. The restaurant is making a really good effort in providing a fine dinning experience in steak cuisine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ste s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Kyloe Restaurant at Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing