We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe minibreak”
Review of 21212

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
21212
Ranked #56 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The rooms at 21212 are beautiful. They are luxe, thoughtfully put together, extremely comfortable and conveniently located above the gorgeous 21212 restaurant.

The bathroom - HUGE bath, lovely array of spa-quality toiletries, plenty of huge soft warm towels. Bliss.

The bedroom was well laid out, with a small sitting area away from the bed, and plenty of wardrobe space.

The service was very welcoming, we had an outstandingly good breakfast and left with a wonderful feeling of relaxation and well being.

The only downside to the room is noise - it is on a busy cobbled street, and sound does travel. This has to be expected in the middle of a busy city.

We had a great visit, and happily recommend it to those looking for something special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brissiechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay and for finding us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for 21,212
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had an excellent stay here on a Saturdy night in March in room 1.
From the moment we arrived we received excellent service. All the staff we dealt with could not have been more helpful - pats on the back all round. The room was outstanding for a UK city centre establishment - very large and well laid out. The welcoming glass of champagne was a nice touch and set us up for a very lovely meal.
The one large table for all overnight guests at breakfast might divide opinion but we enjoyed the early morning chat. If you are used to B&B in the USA you will be familiar with that set up but it was a first for us in the UK.
It is not cheap but I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newtonbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

And we thank you for choosing to stay with us here at 21212!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have stayed twice at 21212 in different rooms both superb, the whole building is spotless, it radiates luxury and opulence. The staff are wonderful friendly and warm. The restaurant deserves it's star, perfection on every plate. Paul is a very, very clever chef.

Celebrating a birthday doesn't get much better than this. I'll be choosing my treat in September to be here also and plan to be back sooner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erd3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we are glad you enjoyed it as much 2nd time around. Maybe it will be a 3rd different room next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Bit of a late review but I stayed here August 2010 in a very nice room at the back of the hotel which had an amazing bathroom overlooking the gardens. The room was very large with lovely furnishings and the breakfast was excellent. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rettesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Ha, better late than never! I wondered what prompted you to remember us? Maybe you are going to come and see us again!

But thanks, it is appreciated and made me laugh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

6 of us in Edinburgh for the rugby and lunched at 21212.Dinned in the private room which was stunning and the welcome and service from start to finish was first class.The food ,presentation and attention from the staff was simply an eating experience.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Well it was fun having you here, I'm only sorry the rugby result did't go your way to make it a perfect day!

Thanks for taking time to post a review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Came here for my husbands 60th birthday and stayed for three nights. The accommodation is 5 star so clean and luxurious. The staff are wonderful and friendly. We had a meal on our second evening which was sublime - my husband is now Michelin star convert. This place is a must if you stay in Edinburgh and you want something special as they will deliver on all levels.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Ha, you may have to catch up on a few of those Michelin stars in your home area now then! h

Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We have always been keen to visit a Michelin star restaurant, and this restaurant certainly lived up to its reputation. Before we even arrived I was in contact with the staff as we were on a time constraint and they assured us they would do everything they could to help. We were greeted by exceptionally friendly and attentative staff that made us feel special. The food was an experience as well as delicious and each course provided much for us to talk about. Our particular favourite was the cheese course with a number of cheeses all thoroughly explained to us. The staff phoned a taxi for us and ensured we wernt rushed through our meal. A unique experience and highly recommended. Thank you for such a wonderful evening.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gilligmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

So glad you enjoyed it all and we do indeed aim to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,851 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Courtyard by Marriott Edinburgh
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,118 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21212? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21212

Address: 3 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $154 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 21212 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21212 is a Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms. 4 lovely bedrooms in a Grade A listed building in the New Town of Edinburgh. Only 5 minutes form Waverley train station at the foot of Calton Hill. a stunning location and property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and TripOnline SA so you can book your 21212 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21212 Hotel Edinburgh
21212 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing