We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a restaurant with a few very nice rooms. Breakfast an amazing anti-climax”
Review of 21212

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
21212
Ranked #49 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Its a restaurant with a few very nice rooms. Breakfast an amazing anti-climax”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Restaurant was amazing, one of the top 2 meals I've had in a UK restaurant and deservedly winner of the best restaurant (in Scotland?) award 2012. Rooms very also very very nice - a great weekend romantic get away. why not 5 stars? Breakfast was a real let down. Badly cooked boiled eggs (yes, its possible - one over cooked one under cooked) and bread that had all the characteristcs of a supermarket loaf. Surreal experience after sublime evening meal.

Room Tip: There are only 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wondering_Haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
120
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I took my partner here for her birthday on 21-2-12 and it was the best possible stay. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were gorgeous with great views and the food...oh, the food! The restaurant was exceptional! We hope to go back on our anniversary on 21-8-12. If not,then on many many other times to come.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alilee218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel and all the staff is simply the BEST

Bedrooms and bathrooms are fantastic as are the public areas

The hotel is in a prime postion with a very easy walk to to Princess Street

Breakfast was excellent, not traditional but simple wonderful

Room Tip: If you are unfit, ask for rooms on the 3rd floor as opposed to the 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailbrown100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

have been to eat at 21212 several times but first time to stay

super luxurious rooms
massive mega comfy bed
elemis toiletries

woke up to the sound of birdsong in the centre of the city
everywhere you look the place is classy
as lee nelson would say qualitee!
food was brilliant innovative and tasty
all stafff welcoming and helpful
best weekend ever !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed at 21212 for one night over the weekend with my fiance and we were extremely impressed. The Georgian (I think) building has been very sympathetically converted, and our bedroom was immaculate and modern, with a lovely view out towards the Mound. The Elemis toiletries in the bathroom were a real treat. We had tea and coffee brought to us in our bedroom, served in beautiful bone china, with delicious shortbread. The restaurant itself is absolutely fantastic - such beautifully cooked, creative food. I loved the fact that, though an incredible level of skill and detail had gone into the presentation of the meal and all dishes looked stunning, that taste was obviously the most important aspect of its development. So absolutely not a case of style over substance. Each bite had something new and surprising about it. A real strength of 21212, both accommodation and restaurant, is the staff. We were given a very warm welcome by a lovely blonde lady on our arrival, and were attended to by an extremely friendly lady with blonde/pinkish hair throughout our stay. All the staff in the restaurant were extremely friendly - there was nothing remotely patronising or stuffy about this place (which can occasionally be the case in Michelin starred places), but we were impressed by the knowledge of everyone who served us food and wine. I accidentally left a package in our room, and the staff contacted us very swiftly and are keeping it safe for our next visit - any excuse to go back! All in all, a wonderful experience and place that really merits the praise it gets.

Room Tip: Try a top floor room - lovely views out to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHM_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed 3 night in this hotel in january, the room was great and a really good bathroom.
only problem is the smell of cooking in your room in the evening and the breakfast who is so boring, same stuff 3 day on a row .
overhall and enjoyed my stay but i will ave like more luxury basic at that level like mini bar in room, room service menu for breakfast an afternoon tea.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in April 2011. The service was really amazing, the room was beautiful and the view overlooked their garden in the back which was quite pretty. I do agree with other reviews that if you are not used to restaurants with rooms, or hotels without an elevator it was quite a run up the stairs with luggage (luckily my husband was there) but in all fairness they did off to help us out.
This little boutique was close to most of the main areas of Edinburgh, so walking was not a problem. We ate at the restaurant and the food was fabulous. This place really did not disappoint!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHamms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
94DR
#10 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21212? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21212

Property: 21212
Address: 3 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 21212 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21212 is a Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms. 4 lovely bedrooms in a Grade A listed building in the New Town of Edinburgh. Only 5 minutes form Waverley train station at the foot of Calton Hill. a stunning location and property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your 21212 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21212 Hotel Edinburgh
21212 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing