We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy but a few things let it down”
Review of 21212

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
21212
Ranked #50 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classy but a few things let it down”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. The welcome was great. Stayed in one of the top floor rooms. The interior decor (room and hotel generally) is superb (classy). The food well I can only say out of this world - they catered for vegetarian diet extremely well. Breakfast room - superb. Both owners (hotel and restaurant) were delightful

So where's the catch......
- If you have heavy bags make sure someone is about to give you a hand! Don't assume there will be someone on hand as this is not a hotel in the traditional sense
- Even in July Edinburgh can have cold nights - the room was cold on both nights. I did flag this issue but it was not addressed
- If you want to stay up and have a drink/relax in the grand drawing room the lights go off automatically at midnight! Even when the head-chef kindly turned them back on they went off again
- Tried my hardest to tip for the superb meal at the restaurant. When I was paying my hotel bill I was told the system can't deal with such overpayments!
- As I left the hotel the receptionist who was dealing with my departure was most stand-offish! This really left a sour impression of the place

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
122
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for four nights in December 2011 and had a fantastic stay.

The hotel is a restaurant with rooms and has four bedrooms. We stayed in room 2 which is on the top floor of the hotel. The room is very luxuriously decorated, perfectly clean and has a really nice wet-room bathroom with a double sink. There is a seating area which backs on to the bed which looks out onto the pretty garden and the rise of Carlton Hill. The room has all you would expect from a hotel of this standard, robes, fluffy towels, wi-fi, tv, bottled water and plenty of wardrobe space. There is also a decanter of sloe gin in the room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were always asked if we would like drinks when we arrived back to the hotel and pots of tea (with biscuits and in a flask to keep it warm) or other drinks would be brought to the room if requested.

The hotel is in a row of Georgian houses in the New Town. The location was perfect for us and and is an easy walking distance to all the main sights.

There were only a couple of minor negatives. The wi-fi strength wasn't very strong and wouldn't reach the seating area at the end of the room. As it is a small hotel you are asked what time you would like to have breakfast the next morning - this didn't suit us as we aren't the best at getting up for a certain time on holiday! Also, surprisingly the choices for breakfast were quite limited for a restaurant with rooms. Breakfast was home-made muesli, fresh fruit and a yoghurt every day with a choice of a cooked option which was either boiled eggs, fried eggs with salami or smoked salmon with caviar. We would have liked more choice having been there for four nights but everything we did have was delicious. The only parking at the hotel is on-street-parking which is on a meter Monday to Friday until 5.30 pm with maximum stay of 4 hours. We parked in the Onmi centre during the week which was expensive.

This was a wonderful hotel and really helped make our break in Edinburgh perfect. We would definitely come back and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gembad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have just returned from a weekend stay at the hotel and had an AMAZING time. We were there for my friends hen weekend in all 4 bedrooms, and I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our stay. Every single member of staff we dealt with was friendly and plesant and couldn't have been more helpful. We were made to feel so welcome, was like a regal home from home. It is such an exquisite hotel and perfectly run. Personal touches and amazing service make this place the best hotel i have ever stayed in.
Will most definately be returning, and wouldn't reccommend any other place but here if staying in Edinburgh, you just can't be disappointed with anything, its amazing!

Room Tip: All rooms amazing, 1 and 12 have huge bathrooms and baths, but 2 and 21 make up for that is size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIvo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had a truly fantastic time at 21212 - staying 4 nights. Paul and Katie should be very proud of what they have achieved. Our room was beautiful with a huge free-standing bath and rainfall shower. The staff were really welcoming, and there was a relaxed atmosphere which was lovely. Our every need was taken care of - including my antibiotics!!

Our meal in 21212 was amazing and there was no problem devising alternatives for my vegetarian predilections. It was beautiful, imaginative and the flavours were amazing.
Fully deserving of more than one Michelin star!!

Room Tip: all look great from the website but room 12 has a fantastic bath and lovely garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audreyhepburnesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had a wonderful 3 night stay here. The house and public areas are very attractive indeed, the rooms are beautifully decorated and exceedingly comfortable, and the staff (also in the resturant) were just so pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwardleek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a very small hotel with a beautiful restaurant. We didn't eat in the restaurant but if the breakfast was anything to go by the food would be superb. Our room was sheer luxury, with designer furnishings. The bathroom was brilliant. A roll top bath, a massive shower, with his and her sinks. It was within walking distance of all the main sights. We loved it and if we go back to Edinburgh we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexMovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I was brought here for a surprise weekend and the whole time was flawless from start to finish. The staff were excellent, professional, friendly yet unobtrusive. The food was stunning and very different; all the flavours came together beautifully and the wine list had a decent selection of half bottles and wines by the glass to allow sufficient flexibility needed for a 5 course meal.
The accommodation was beautifully thought through down to the last detail and very comfortable.
It was also really nice to meet the owners and understand the effort they had put into the place. It isn't cheap but as a location for a romantic getaway, worth every penny!
Charlotte, London

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottster2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#12 of 148 in Edinburgh
781 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21212? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21212

Property: 21212
Address: 3 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 21212 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21212 is a Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms. 4 lovely bedrooms in a Grade A listed building in the New Town of Edinburgh. Only 5 minutes form Waverley train station at the foot of Calton Hill. a stunning location and property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your 21212 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21212 Hotel Edinburgh
21212 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing