We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable everything!”

The Manna House Bakery and Patisserie
Ranked #11 of 34 Bakeries in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Open since 2005, The Manna House is a local craft bakery and patisserie with a small cafe so you can enjoy our sweets and savories to eat in. We bake fresh bread everyday Monday to Saturday – producing everything from white bloomers, multigrain loaves and wholemeal harvesters to more unusual bread like rye & caraway or black olive sourdough.We specialize in fine French patisserie and can make wonderful celebration cakes to order - our carrot cakes, chocolate brownies and blueberry bundts all have a big following.Franco our savory chef makes fresh salads and tasty treats everyday to sit in or to take away with quiches, fresh pizza and pies among our favorites.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unbeatable everything!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

All of the food is absolutely fantastic! The breads are to die for. Everything is presented beautifully, the atmosphere in the small dining space is comfortable and relaxing, and the service is quick and courteous.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AAnDL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    36
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little bit of patisserie heaven”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The only trouble with going in to the Manna house is getting out again without buying one of everything they sell. Not that the staff are pushy, very far from it, but everything is just so utterly tempting. And when some of it is gluten-free as well, there is no escape, and temptation unlimited. The range of salads is really interesting - not just bundles of green stuff - and the soups are excellent. But the bread.....oh, the bread!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bread to die for!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Not enough epithets to do this place justice. If you are anywhere near pop in and discover, that is what this place is about - always new breads and treats to tempt. The coffee and tea is excellent too and the place is humming, people dropping in all the time. Go hungry and spoil yourself. It is heaven. The location is not the best in Edinburgh but indulge the taste buds and the environment melts away. My wife likes to explore the shopping centre nearby, I like exploring the delights here. Very reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb pastries and lovely coffee”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Probably one of the best almond croissants I have ever tasted and the cakes are delicious! The Manna House provide catering for our friends wedding and their quiches were out of this world. I think this may become my local!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Bakery”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I lunched here 2 days ago and had a really great pie with delicious salad. Very Pleased and the cakes and bread are all made fresh in store, very reasonable pricing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marymc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manna House Bakery and Patisserie also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Manna House Bakery and Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing