We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship on the Shore

The Ship on the Shore
Ranked #97 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Ship on the Shore, a secret gem in Edinburgh’s Seafood dining scene. At the Ship on the Shore, we have the opportunity to explore and enjoy the freshest and most extraordinary Scottish fish and seafood. The Ship on the Shore loves to use these offerings and we take great pride in using the freshest, which arrives daily and is harvested from sustainable stocks, we love this gift from nature's larder and wanted to share what we enjoy with you, our fellow travellers. Our approach is simple really; we offer the finest ingredients, passionately prepared and expertly presented. When the sun shines, our delicious seafood can be served outside, on our shore-front terrace beside the Water of Leith. When it doesn’t, our atmospheric restaurant and bar awaits you. We serve food all day, from our delicious menus; Champagne Breakfast (9-11.30am), Crustacea and Mollusc (12 noon -10pm, Lunch (12 noon -5pm) Dinner (5-10pm). On Sunday's we also offer a delicious Sunday Roast. Whether it’s a light lunch you’re after, or luxuriating over our Fruits de Mer 'Royale' or Hot Shellfish Platter, accompanied by the finest wine or champagne, The Ship on the Shore offers informal, understated excellence.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

food always very good and quite reasonable, i like to have a table in the bar which has a good buzz about it. great vareity on the menu for lunch/wine a wee bit more pricey than some

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank silv5249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    287
    76
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood in a warm, relaxed setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our 2nd time frequenting this restaurant as for our most recent romantic weekend away we wanted to ensure we had a seafood extravaganza for one evening and the Ship on the Shore certainly provided that.

We knew even before we arrived what we were going to order and were more than happy to pay the £90 for the Deluxe Fruit de Mare, however when we went to order the lovely waitress advised us that this was the cold version and that the hot was only £65, even better!!!

To go with the meal we ordered a bottle of Prosecco which was delish. The wine we could finish but the shared main was so large we had to leave a lot which was really frustrating for foodies such as ourselves. Definite value for money as it included a full lobster, langoustines, mussels, clams, large crab claws etc.

What we love about the Ship is that the restaurant is suitable for for romantic couples, families or for any other occasion and that the lighting and ambiance was really warm and inviting upon arrival.

We will definitely be returning in the future.

Marie & Andrew

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my girlfriends favourite restaurant, if we stayed in Leith we would be here once a week! it is fantastic. If you like seafood you will love this.

The service has been excellent every time we’ve been and I find it much more enjoyable an atmosphere that Fishers next door (it is a fine restaurant and you wouldn’t be let down in there)

Ultimately it is overpriced considering what your getting but sadly good shellfish is expensive in Scotland because we import it all before it gets to us!

Try this place for an experience, if it’s a special occasion have the ‘Fruits-de-mer’ with champagne for a treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glasg0wDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went there tonight with the boyfriend to celebrate valentines and also so he could try his first lobster. The food tasted great, however the portion size was a little tight when it came to the lobster. When the half lobster is pretty much the size of a langoustine you may as well serve the entire thing.

What really let the place down though was the service, the waitresses actively blanked you when you made eye contact and you were left waiting a decade just to be served. Also not appreciative of the funny looks received for not tipping. They probably should have used the energy spent on dirty looks on actually providing a service worth tipping for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AimeeDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nectar of the Gods If You like Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Best fish restaurant,reasonably priced from fish an chips, to lobster on a fish platter,pint of prawns at the bar,or a fantastic hot seafood fruit de mer last weekend,with beetroot hollaidaise,garlic butter! platter of mussels clams langoustines crab claws,lobster and Prawns,may have been more!!! Truly Delicious

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship on the Shore also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Ship on the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing