We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't what I was expecting...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bonnie's Guesthouse
Ranked #76 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wasn't what I was expecting...”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I hesitated before writing a review but ultimately decided it could help other guests book a better room if they decide to stay here.
We were here one night during our Edinburgh holiday, and although the host Mirella was very pleasant, we were less than thrilled with our room- due to size and location. It looked onto the street, and the homes here are not set back from the road so there was a lot of traffic noise as well as from people walking by (you could hear everything they said). The room had a double bed but barely enough room to walk around it once our luggage was in the room.

From other reviewers it sounds like the back rooms are quiet and I can only assume larger as well.

My other quibble was that we were reminded twice of the check out time, which was quite unnecessary.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petstylist101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to review my establishment. Regarding youre comments where you talked about the room sizes my double rooms are smaller than my twin rooms and are not all at the back part of my guest house.

People can expect some level of noise from the street but my windows are double glazed, i supply for the comfort of guests use ear plugs. Being so close to town this is something i cant help.

Apologies for re peating myself regarding check out time this is a one off as im not normally in the practice of doing this and I shall refrain from doing this in the future to avoid any bad feeling towards my guests which was never intended to happen.

Thank you Mirella...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    36
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
54
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at Edinburgh House. The host Mirella is really no-fuss, but accomodating and efficient at what she does - nothing was any trouble to her. She let us check in as soon as the rooms were prepared so that we could spend the day seeing the city. The room was huge and had a large ensuite with a large standing shower - and every bath product you may need on your stay, ever! The welcome tea and coffee stand was the most impressive of all the B&B's we stayed in Scotland - herbal teas, hot chocolate, yummy toffees and chocolates, shortbread, you name it! After a long day touring the city it was just what we needed. Breakfast was great - fresh fruit is included and service is prompt. Edinburgh House is located a 5-10 minute walk from new town and Waverly Station, and the main street adjacent has bus service (both city and the open-top bus tour stops here). Would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a comfortable, convenient and great-value stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyBaby345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Many thanks for youre review im glad that you had a pleasant stay in EDinburgh at my guest house.
Hope to see you another time in the future where a warm welcome awaits you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice B&B, Mirella was really sweet, everything inside the hotel was new. Small and nice B&B, located close enough to the city. Breakfast was also very good, and I loved the small chocolates in the room. Could have Internet in the room, though, just had it in the common areas.

Room Tip: I believe that the rooms that do not have windows to the road are quieter. Besides this, my room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D0ris48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
THank you for your review of your holiday stay at Edinburgh House. Im glad that you had a lovely time whilst in EDinburgh.
Thank you once again Mirella and i hope to see you agai sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Okay, it is not the Taj Mahal, but it is well-serviced, and not that far from Waverly Station. It really is a 10 minute walk. Ask for a room that looks out on the green leafy garden courtyard. You have a choice for breakfast and it is good too! Ample toiletries in the room -- even bandaids (plasters)! Very clean with nice little touches. Mirella, the host, is suitably friendly (not one to talk your ear off, which is a welcome thing, as far as I am concerned).

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomFordLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi and many thanks for taking your valuable time to write me a review on your stay in my guest house. Im glad that you had a nice time whilst in Edinburgh and everything went ok...
thank you once again for my review much appreciated.
Mirella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a find this place is. Mirella is the perfect hostess and the extras in the rooms put many rated hotels to shame. The room was comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was amazing and enough to feed an army! Only stayed one night but next time in Edinburgh will surely return to Edinburgh House.

Margaret and Catriona from Ayr

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks for my review... was a delight to have such lovely guests thank you... my pleasure!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We only stayed one night, a pity as our other B and B was not in the same class. Mirella was excellent hostess and breakfast wonderful. Room had more extras than most places.

If ever return to Edinburgh it would be our number one B and B booking

Errol and friends'
Brisbane'
Australia

Room Tip: We had ground floor rooms close to road but it did not bother us at all. They were our preference as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERROL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Many thanks for your review ... im glad that you had a lovely time whilst in Edinburgh at Edinburgh House.

Thank you...Mirella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Mirella is one of the nicest and friendliest people I have come across!! The pride she takes in her B&B is amazing. We were only able to stay one night, but will make it a point to reserve early for our next time in Edinburgh. Take a taxi if you are coming or going to the airport. Its only about L5 for the ride and worth it especially if it is late at night.
She had toiletries available which was great as some B&Bs don't provide soap, lotion and shampoo. The rooms had heating you could control on your own. There is wireless in the room. The breakfast was great! Looking forward to going there again. She had the most FANTASTIC TARTAN CARPET that I have ever seen. Actually its the only tartan carpet I have seen, but FANTASTIC nonetheless!
Thank you Mirella you are a sweet lady!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank java1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Im glad that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh and at Edinburgh House..

Many thanks for my review Mirella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Browns Bed and Breakfast
#65 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dene Guest House
#21 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#24 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie's Guesthouse

Property: Bonnie's Guesthouse
Address: 11 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Edinburgh House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonnie's Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round, Bonnie,s Guest House is a small family run guest house in a traditional tenement building only a short walk to city centre attractions like Princes Street, Calton Hill, The Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle. There is also a good bus service to the city centre if you don't feel like walking! We have a variety of restaurants nearby, and the Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre is only a couple of minutes walk. All of our rooms are finished to a high standard with en suite bathrooms, multi-channel digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers in every room. Also, free wifi internet access is available. We operate a strictly non-smoking establishment. Should our guests have any special requirements (such as booking a taxi, arranging flowers etc) we are happy to oblige. Nothing too big and nothing too small for us! We also speak French and Italian for our foreign visitors. We look forward to welcoming you as guests to our B&B soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Bonnie's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie's Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing