We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and pleasant atmosphere... Ahh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonnie's Guesthouse
Ranked #59 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“friendly and pleasant atmosphere... Ahh!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Last week we were at this B & B and all was great. Great room, spacious bathroom. Mirella, the owner, is very friendly and attentive. (Huge) breakfasts you can choose made by herself. Very warmtreatment . Free wi-fi.
Good situation, 10-15 minutes walk from Old Town. Quiet street, no traffic, bars...
If I return to Edinburgh, will stay there again .... 100% Recommended!

Jazmin & Pedro, Malaga, Spain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corneteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    40
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
63
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buchs St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

My wife and I staid at Edinburgh House for 5 days/nights. We were very happy there. We had an excellent breakfast every day, a comfortable, quite room, the host is a very friendly, helpfull lady, who has a good sense of humour. We would like to come back and we thank Ms. Rooney for the nice stay in her house!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wgiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We travelled by car to Scotland from London. We did not pre book but asked upon arrival for availability. Was met by Mirella who was most helpful and obliging. Rooms were clean and comfortable and all the little extras you need while travelling. Body wash, hand wash, coffee & tea facilities were all good brands, so there was no scimping on quality here. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. The chats with Mirella over a cuppa was very personal and just shows the friendliness of the the lovely Scottish people.
Location was perfect. could walk to all restaurants and transport fascilities on offer here.
I would not hesitate to stay here again and would like to thank Mirella for a very pleasant and friendly stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kezza002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The place is well located, you can go to so many touristic places by walking or just getting a bus; the staff are very warm, friendly and helpful; the rooms are really big and nice decorated, you can find a warm bed and all the things you will need in the room. The breakfast is huge and well prepared, and there are a lot of restaurants and nice pubs quite close. My friends, my wife and I found it a very nice place to stay. We will definitely comeback and we for sure recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Mother and daughter team keeps a warm and welcoming establishment. The rooms are a nice size, not at all too small if you compare with other places! It's quite near the center of town, a 10 minutes walk or by bus. The rooms are nicely decorated, everything is fresh and tasteful. The sweetest tartan rug in the hallway. There's cable TV in every room. The bathrooms are spick and span, lots of towels and nice finishing touches. Shampoo, shower cream, soaps galore ... even a little basket of things you might need on a trip but had forgotten to bring along! Scissors, q-tips, cotton balls, needle and thread, etc, etc. There's a little cold box for your lemonades, and a hairdryer (in the form of a very funny duck). A large selection of coffees and teas, plus little bisquits, should you feel peckish! Breakfast is served by cheerful Mirella who is also a whiz with all kinds of useful information.
So I'm sure we'll be staying with them again the next time we are in Edinburgh. I can recommend them warmly to everyone. Best value for your money plus a little extra as well :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2009

our frist trip to edinburgh, we had a great time
'the room was very clean,and the breakfast was huge with a good selection.
Theres pleant of bus that go pass the end of the road.but it`s a nice walk to the center.with plenty of shops on the way.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dev14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Will definitely stay here again if we come to Edinburgh in the future. Owners were helpful at all times. Very convenient for buses and restaurants. A really good Italian restaurant just across the road.

Only criticism is that we would have preferred to decide on our breakfast on the morning and not having to decide the night before. Sometimes you do not know what you will fancy to eat until the morning. I have never stayed anywhere where this was the case.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twosret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#21 of 392 in Edinburgh
336 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#156 of 392 in Edinburgh
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbotsford Guest House
#100 of 392 in Edinburgh
151 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 392 in Edinburgh
445 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie's Guesthouse

Property: Bonnie's Guesthouse
Address: 11 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Edinburgh House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonnie's Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round, Bonnie,s Guest House is a small family run guest house in a traditional tenement building only a short walk to city centre attractions like Princes Street, Calton Hill, The Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle. There is also a good bus service to the city centre if you don't feel like walking! We have a variety of restaurants nearby, and the Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre is only a couple of minutes walk. All of our rooms are finished to a high standard with en suite bathrooms, multi-channel digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers in every room. Also, free wifi internet access is available. We operate a strictly non-smoking establishment. Should our guests have any special requirements (such as booking a taxi, arranging flowers etc) we are happy to oblige. Nothing too big and nothing too small for us! We also speak French and Italian for our foreign visitors. We look forward to welcoming you as guests to our B&B soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bonnie's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie's Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing