We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely base for a stay in Edinburgh”
Review of Blinkbonny House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blinkbonny House
Ranked #75 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We've just returned from a 4-night stay at Blinkbonny House, on our first trip to Scotland. The house is beautifully presented, clean, comforting and homely, with attention to detail by the lovely hosts. Shaun was there to greet us on arrival and quickly gave us maps and bus routes to help us settle in straight away. Both he and his wife are very genuine and welcoming people and obviously get a great deal of returning guests.

Our room was warm, clean and plenty big enough, with an en suite bathroom that was just right. The breakfasts, cooked to order, were delicious and you get the feeling that nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. Try the porridge!!

The B&B is quite close to a main bus route which can take you all around the city and back, however we tended to walk everywhere as you see more sights that way. Once you get your bearings, it's very easy to find your way around.

We would not hesitate to stay at Blinkbonny again and the hosts have certainly worked hard to make sure it is a home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigereyes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Blinkbonny House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Having stayed in various b&bs over the years I thought I knew what to expect-lacklustre service,dated decor,grimey bathroom,a breakfast fit for either a dog or a very hungover man,grey bed linen and a grotty little room(single!). However, take all that and turn it on its head at Blinkbonny House. The host, Sean-couldnt have been more accommadating-look at their web landing page and believe it-I kid you not. Could not fault the place-or the price! If you are visiting Edinburgh and dont want to stay in a soulless hotel but want a clean,welcoming,atmospheric home from home see if you can get a room at Blinkbonny-superd breakfast as well!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottmartinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The website is beautifully done, but the reality did not live up to it. The Twin/Double with private shower room SHARES the bath, it's not private. We had an early arrival and was originally told we could come early, collect our keys and drop our luggage, then return later when the room was ready. We arrived as planned and no one answered. Then when we did check in, the room was still not ready. The next day we returned at 5:00 p.m. and neither the room nor the bath had been cleaned. We had planned a return visit for several days, and were told there was a problem with overbooking and we would be required to change rooms 3 nights out of 4, and share the bath for one of them. We have been guests at many excellent B&B's in Scotland and Ireland; this was NOT one of them.

Room Tip: Make sure the word
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLAllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Blinkbonny House for 3 nights. We enjoyed our stay very much. Shaun and Elaine are extremely friendly,wonderful and very helpful. Made us feel right at home.
Excellent breakfast and lots of it !!
A very clean place.Loved the location.We like to walk so we did not mind the distance to city centre and quite enjoyed the walk.
We would return there again.We had a great experience.
Thank you for making our stay so pleasant.
Soraya & Murray - Edmonton-Canada

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soraya49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We had a stay for one night in Edinburg, and lucky enough to find BlinkBonny House. the place was very clean, with very friendly owners Rooms have ensuite shower and bathroom. Well decorated. Nice food. Highly recomanded.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We just stayed here and I must say it is a lovely place. However the location from town is a little far approx 15 minute walk to centre outskirts. We had a car so we ended up driving close to city centre and walking rest of the way.
Shaun is a lovely man maybe a little too full on for some. Breakfast was fantastic and it fills you up!! He even made porridge for guests from
Italy on request!
One thing I was not happy with was when we went
out for the day someone had come into our room and changed towels etc... but also decided to move our clothes and toiletries around. My husbands suit was hanging behind the door as was my leather jacket and it was moved to the cupboard. My toothbrush was in the shower on the shelf as I brush in the shower and it was moved to the sink! We also had our window open to air out the room bit when we came home our window was closed but the bedroom door open!! Other than that all else fine.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melw077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Blinkbonny House. The room was beautiful, the breakfast delicious, the hosts were helpful, everything was clean and the location was perfect! The hosts provided anything we needed: a converter, alarm clock, vegetarian breakfast, packed us sandwiches for a very early flight...etc.. They truly made this bed and breakfast amazing for our trip to Scotland! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandilands Guest House
Sandilands Guest House
#159 of 393 in Edinburgh
109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#77 of 393 in Edinburgh
128 reviews
3.2 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aaron Lodge
Aaron Lodge
#34 of 393 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carmichael Bed And Breakfast
Carmichael Bed And Breakfast
#186 of 393 in Edinburgh
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blinkbonny House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blinkbonny House

Address: 23 Blinkbonny Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 3HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $89 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blinkbonny House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Blinkbonny House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blinkbonny House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing