We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Duthus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duthus Lodge
Ranked #101 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have stayed at this B&B 3 times. Kay and Murdo are great hosts and their breakfast is fantastic. The B&B is spotless and very convenient to the city as well as bus stops right out front. An added convenient is being able to purchase day tickets right at the B&B. You must have Murdo show you his prize 1960 Triumph as it is fantastic. Also, enjoy meeting Bracken their puppy.

Room Tip: When traveling in Scotland you should start looking about 4pm in order to get a room. In big cities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights with a large family group. The rooms were very clean and very nicely appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable. We were awakeen every morning by a wonderfully cooked Scottish breakfast that stuck with us most of the day. The owners were great and provided wonderful suggestions to restaraunts in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lita74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Have just spent two nights here and very happy with our stay. We were upgraded to e triple from double, probably because the place was not full during our stay. I had arranged a flower delivery to the guest house prior to our arrival which was kindly placed in the room as requested. A vase had also been left for us to use.

The room was very well presented and very clean. The en suite was small but it did the trick for us! The double bed was a very small double. It was comfortable but too small for us; I am 6'3" though!

The breakfast was great, full fry up with cereal, yoghurt etc also available and nothing was too much trouble for the owners.

Location is good with bus service from just outside running into the city centre for just £1.40 each way!

Would stay here again if we return to Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

i have just returned from a one night stay at the duthus lodge with 5 of my friends, we were all arriving and leaving at different times , my sister and niece got lost so murdo had to talk her in over the phone, we were allowed to leave our cases while we went to see the pandas,, absolutely nothing was too much trouble,, we loved their relaxed style and easy conversation, breakfast kept us going all day, there is not a negative about this hotel,thanks to everyone including bracken,

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This "Bed & Breakfast" is in a good position for visiting the city, about 25 mins walking to the city centre. The hosts are friendly and helpful and the house is very nice. The lounge room was OK, but constantly used by the owner. The place was full, therefore breakfast room was crowded and the service a bit slow. What really disappointed us was the bedroom we were given. It was on the first floor, facing the back. Although it had a double bed, the bedroom was too small to be a double room, with no room to move. No wardrobes, just a metal rack to hang clothes. The en-suite was a box. It had a small shower, with a very weak jet which refused to heat up above lukewarm. The bed and the pillows were awful, hard and uncomfortable. I'm sure they must have better rooms - sadly, the one we got was dismal for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room or go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvador m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A lovely Bed & Breakfast option in Edinburgh. We only stayed the night and were delighted with the whole exprience. A warm welcome from Murdo & Bracken set the scene well! Our room (4) was spacious & very well appointed. It was at the front of the hotel but didn't hear any road noise at all. It's in a very good position with the centre of Edinburgh a 15-20 minute stroll away. Buses stop virtually outside the garden gate if you're feeling lazy. Plenty of free parking at the side of the hotel at weekends too.

The breakfast was superb - full Scottish with all the trimmings. Plenty of toast & very good coffee. We would definately stay here again & would recommend the Duthus Lodge to anyone. Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reuben31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

It has taken me far too long to write this review. However, my tardiness does not lessen the outstanding time we had at Duthus Lodge. During our stay in Scotland, we visited and experienced MANY Bed and Breakfasts. We loved Kay and Murdo, their warm hospitality, and the way they made us feel so very special. The accommodation was spectacular, the breakfast was fantastic, and of course Edinburgh was amazing. Thank you for having us, we will return.
Robert & Katherine, Richmond, VA, USA

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineW392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
169 reviews
Parkhead House
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
84 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 394 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
The Edinburgh Lodge
#124 of 394 in Edinburgh
224 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#139 of 394 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duthus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duthus Lodge

Address: 5 West Coates, Edinburgh EH12 5JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $119 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duthus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Duthus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duthus Lodge Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing