We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”
Review of Alpha Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpha Guest House
Ranked #167 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I stayed with my partner for 2 nights.Breakfast was superb, room was fabulous and Paulina was the most wonderfull host. We will definetely go back .
Thank you again Paulina!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weerobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2009

Location ideal, 2 minutes from the by pass, one road direct to front door. Also,
5 minutes drive to City Centre for my appointments.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iansoccercamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

i just want to say how nice it was to be welcomed with warm hearts, the people in charge who are ada and paoulina was so helpful, the rooms was outstanding and the breakfast was second to none, all in all, i do advise people to stay, you will be welcomed and a warm welcome at that, thank you so much for making our stay out of this world.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrymiller024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This guest house is by far the very best we have stayed in, and we have stayed in a lot of hotels. The rooms are spotless, Ada was very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent and I would throughly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindawest09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

The Alpha Guest House was perfect for what we wanted. easy to find, private parking and seconds away from a bus stop that went directly to the heart of the town!

Very friendly and helpful owners, rooms to a very high standard for the price, needed two rooms for my husband and I and the girls - no problem treating the girls as young adults which was appreciated. Great variety for breakfast in the morning like home from home.

Could not have asked for more!

Would Definately recommend to Family and Friends.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NajuManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

As a regular visitor to Edinburgh who had to book in this time at the last minute because of pressure of work, I actually called in passing during the evening and received a very warm welcome at the door from Pauline who showed me to a delightful room with an exceptionally high standard of decor and furnishings for a 3 star establishment.

The morning's breakfast was excellent with lashings of bacon egg and sausage - if that's
your cup of tea! - and I arranged to stay the following night because of the welcoming atmosphere. To be recommended !

Derek McDougall Inverness

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
Thank mcdougall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

This is very much a Guest House business without the hospitality, homeliness and help of a traditional British B&B.

First, the good points. The bus stop was across the road. Our room was spotlessly clean and serviced daily. Our twin beds were comfortable and the mattress firm. Although there was no clothes line, the pleasant Polish-speaking manager (who we saw only on arrival) had never heard of one but kindly provided us with a clothes rack to dry our washing in our room.

The cooked breakfast was quite adequate but lacked flair. The breakfast room became cramped as it filled with guests.

Don't be fooled by Alpha's webpage "credit card accepted" - Ted, the owner, insists on cash (rather handy to run the Mercedes). No invoice, and we had to really press for a receipt which, when finally provided by the breakfast cook, was undated and lacked specific detail.

On arrival Ted appeared for 5 minutes to show us the elaborate security and the idiosyncratic fron door lock. We asked Ted how we can access the room safe. Not working said testy Ted, blaming a previous guest for omitting to disclose their PIN code upon departure.

We occupied the front room which was spotlessly clean but was buffeted by the traffic noise. It was hard to properly close the window to silence the traffic (and the draught). There was no phone in the room, or anywhere else for that matter.

We saw the owner one other time during our stay and asked him a couple of questions. His responses were both brief and ambivalent. A woman driving Ted's Mercedes surfaced just as we were departing, not to bid fus arewell or enter into any conversation, but presumably to carry away our cash.

As the owner was absent we asked the cook for directions to the car hire office. She had no idea. On our departure day she volunteered that our next stop Glasgow was 20 minutes away by train. (It's an hour).

We asked where the recycling bin might be for paper waste. Good naturedly, the cook (the poor cook!) responded that all the refuse went into the one bin.

There are lots of improvements that could be made to this business, among them:

1. No more of this strictly cash caper. Honour what the website says!
2. A travel rack in the foyer with some Edinburgh brochures/maps would be really handy,
3. A phone (even a public one would be better than none),
4. A clotheline,
5. Recycling facilities,
6. Someone on site who can answer the usual touristy questions (like distances and times) with some degree of knowledge and confidence,
7. The ownerst o be more welcoming and engaging rather than being gruff ; and unpleasant. One can be businesslike without appearing disinterested, and
8. A bit more attention to the presentation of the breakfast.. A jug of water on the table would be a plus.

By the way, we ourselvesarn't perfect: we realised the day following our departure that we'd omitted to hand in the keys.Oh dear Ted and Mrs Ted won't be happy. We promptly posted the keys back with our apologies.

We are not whingers but this was the most disappointing accommodation during our stay in the UK and Europe.

Sydney travellers

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Guest House

Address: 19 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4TE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $76 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Guest House offering traditional bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 4 en-suite rooms including 3 double / twin bedrooms and 1 family / triple bedroom. All rooms are modern and on the ground floor and include a colour LCD TV with Freeview and Tea / Coffee making facilities. Free car parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing