We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpha Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpha Guest House
Ranked #144 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have just had a lovely two day break in Edinburgh with my daughter and was lucky to find the Alpha guest house as our bed and breakfast stay. The guest house is situated on the outskirts of Edinburgh with fantastic bus links literally just outside the guesthouse. The hosts were welcoming but not overbearing which was lovely, anything we needed they were very accommodating. The breakfast was great , room lovely and clean what more could you want will be going back and would recommend to others. Thank you Louis and Ada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    31
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
63
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very clean, good breakfast, and close to the city centre. Ada was also friendly and helpful, she provided an iron for my mother, and rang a taxi for us when we needed one. The room was comfortable and nicely furnished.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 441daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found the accommodation very clean and comfortable. The location is great the bus stop is right at the front door, and only a ten minute bus ride to the centre of town. Park your car right at the front door. Breakfast was nice, and Louis and Ada were very friendly and helpfull. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 448helen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived for a 3 night stay and were hurriedly shown to our room by the hostess who was uttering that everyone had arrived around the same time and she was trying to prepare dinner for friends who were coming over and she would get the money for the room in the morning. As she left our room she told us that breakfast was at 0830.
The next morning we were almost ready to find the breakfast room at 0840 when there was a knock at the door and we were asked if we were going to have breakfast and she able to take the money now.
Breakfast was adequate.
We stayed in room 3 and were astonished with amount of mould in the shower......it was extreme. If you don't count the bathroom the room itself was clean but the bed was showing signs of age as were the pillows.
Overall it was very disappointing and to make matters worse we had pre booked to stay there the following week for one night, our last night before leaving to return to Australia. If we had cancelled we would have been charged and would have had to find alternative accommodation, we chose not to cancel. On our return we stayed in a different room and thankfully the mould wasn't nearly as bad.
I'm sorry to say that we couldn't recommend this B&B. Small things like acknowledging guests by their name or even saying hello or good morning make a difference! Alpha Guest House lacked that warm, friendly, welcoming hospitality we had experienced at all the other B&Bs we had stayed at during our travels around the UK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

although the man off the house was friendly enough , his wife ruined all our ideas of hospitality.
"did you come to pay the bill?" isnt the warm welcome you'd expect from someone who makes a living receiving guests.
the room was clean, the beds fully worn down, breakfast very poorly cooked and goodmorning wasnt in her vocabulary...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delange73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Staying as a couple in this hotel as visiting attractions in Edinburgh. The hotel was clean and comfortable the owners were welcoming and breakfast was very good. Good parking onsite and a bus stop was opposite hotel so access to Edinburgh city centre was only a 10 minute journey away. A place we will return to and stay again next time we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed in this family run guest house in April 2013 for a 4 night break. As soon as we arrived the welcome and service we received was exceptional. The room was a good size, and very clean. The bathroom was small but had everything you would require. The shower had some lovely blue mood lighting which was a nice touch. For breakfast you had the choice of cereal, yogurt or a traditional Scottish cooked breakfast. We opted for the cooked breakfast which was lovely. The guest house we found was not ideally located as it took a bus to get into Edinburgh centre however the bus stop was directly outside the guest house and the fares are cheap enough, especially if you opt for a day ticket. The guest house offered free offf road parking which is ideal as it is situated on a main road. There is a sainsburys within walking distance which we found very useful as there were no pubs/restaurants near by for an evening meal. The owners of the guest house couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them, they were even kind enough to lend us an umbrella for the day as it was pouring with rain, we found this to be a nice touch! We would be more than happy to stay here again and have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.8 mi away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#66 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#127 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sandilands Guest House
Sandilands Guest House
#172 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#129 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.5 mi away
Acer Lodge Guest House
Acer Lodge Guest House
#93 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#59 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Guest House

Property: Alpha Guest House
Address: 19 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4TE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpha Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Guest House offering traditional bed and breakfast accommodation close to Edinburgh city centre and the new Edinburgh Royal Infirmary (ERI) Hospital based at Little France. Comprises 4 en-suite rooms including 3 double / twin bedrooms and 1 family / triple bedroom. All rooms are modern and on the ground floor and include a colour LCD TV with Freeview and Tea / Coffee making facilities. Free car parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Alpha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing