We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Six Brunton Place Guest House
Ranked #4 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Out of this world”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What else can I say about this wondrous place that hasn't already been said? I stayed here with my parents on 11 October to celebrate my birthday and from the moment we arrived, we knew we had made the right decision. Ideal location down from the Playhouse where we were to see the Phantom of the Opera and populated with good access to local amenities whilst still being secluded and serene. It was perfect to come back to after an evening out and even more so, when you consider that with your own sitting room, you can sit at peace and as one with the world, drinking a nice wine.

The rooms were spacious and spotless, finished off with little touches of individuality you would be hard pushed to find in the majority of the large hotels. Where else would you be able to find Sky Sports in your room? Something I was especially thankfully for, as it allowed me to watch Andy Murray's match the next morning. As if this wasn't enough, I was aided in my enjoyment of the tennis, with a full cooked breakfast that would knock spots off of most high class eateries and homemade flapjacks, that still occupy my taste buds.

With most places, they don't feel the need to go that extra mile but with Sue and Mike, it seems to be a personal mission statement, where upon they don't so much treat you as a guest but one of the extended family, who have had the pleasure and will continue to do so to visit this undiscovered gem of Edinburgh.

If you're sick of the mass market hotels, of being treated as a number and of being subjected to bland rooms that offer no colour or comfort, you could do no wrong with this place. Comfy bed, heavenly sheets, a full power shower and towels that hug. This place really is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grasmeregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suethompson34, Owner at Six Brunton Place Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It was a pleasure meeting you and your parents, and I am glad that you all enjoyed your evening in Edinburgh, and your birthday! Hopefully you will be back again perhaps for another show, and we will see you once more! Fingers crossed! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay, and for your kind comments, we hugely appreciate it. Best wishes, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
121
287
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here again last weekend, still for us the only place to stay in Edinburgh. We will never tire of the attention to detail, the warm welcome, the unobtrusive service and the sheer comfort. Well done Sue and Mike on maintaining the highest of standards. Save yourself for the breakfast - locally sourced food including juices, breads are simply scrumptious. The full Scottish is heavily recommended.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all the rooms, they are all excellent. The back is quieter but then you are stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr45452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suethompson34, Owner at Six Brunton Place Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It was wonderful to see you both again, and we are so glad you had a great time in Edinburgh. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay, it means the world to us. Here's to your next visit, hopefully in the very near future. With very best wishes, until then, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our family of six including our 20 mon old baby was warmly welcomed by Sue after a long day on the road. We were all terribly impressed with our rooms and the breakfast was delightful. Sue provided personal touches ( rubber duckies in baby's bath, scrumptious flapjacks and very helpful sightseeing tips) which made our time in Edinburgh a memorable experience. Sue, thank you again for the wonderful hospitality! These East Texans will have very fond memories of our time in your home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwhitney51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I know the Proprietor Mike from working with him some 28 years ago. Both of us have changed occupations.

I am from Bath and I had a trip to Edinburgh and decided to book into his place to give him a visit.

There are 4 georgous rooms all differrent, with their own style , tastefully designed by Mikes partner Sue, an ex architect and a most pleasant lady.

I was chatting with Mike when the people booked into the other 3 rooms arrived , a large family get together with family members from Texas and Lincolnshire.

Mike couldn't do enough for them, the wee girl had ducks for her bath,
The Driver who had a long drive was immediately shown the Red Wine and invited to tuck in.
An Indian meal was their want and a call was made to ensure they were looked after "Royally" with a special menu request for the little girl.

Breakfast was fantastic , a feast could be had if that was what was needed.

In summary, Mike and Sue are making real efforts to make this a quality venue for anyone who goes there and I am sure that there will be many customers return time and time again.

I take my hat off to them and wish them luck (THAT I DONT THINK THEY NEED REALLY).

I will be back to see them sooner rather than later


Gordon Stewart
Bath

Room Tip: Only thing I can think is that one of the rooms only has a shower and no Bath....................I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GORDY2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our last stop of our trip, we were getting tired and sore. Our train was late, we arrived late, wet and tired. Sue greeted us warmly, Immediately impressed with the entry way,grand but welcoming. Sue quickly showed us around, asked what time we wanted breakfast, I felt any need would have been met. There are comfy couches, TV, DVD's, complimentary wine, tea and coffee in the upstairs living room. Our room was GORGEOUS. Ask for the Ggarden Room, although I am sure all the rooms are wonderful. Our room opened out to a spectacular private garden. There was a huge bedroom, sitting area with a couch, large TV, dresser, bed tables, all comfortable and tasteful. She had coffee, tea , addicting oatmeal biscuits, chocolate bars waiting for us. There was a separate area with a table and chairs,overlooking the garden. The Bathroom, I was in awe. HEATED floors, huge shower with rain-style spray, huge soaking tube, fluffy towels with a towel warmer. I didn't want to leave. In the morning, the living room is set up for breakfast, with cereal, fruit salad, yogurt, tea, coffee. You can also choose cooked breakfast, eggs, sausage, porridge, wonderful selections. We became friendly with a Swiss couple also staying there, interesting to talk more in depth with other travelers. She is located about 10 minute walk from the center of things, or a inexpensive 5 minute taxi drive to almost anywhere. There are several good places to eat within walking distance. Sue is knowledgeable of the area, with maps and guidebooks in the entryway. You will love this place, I guarantee. I WILL be back !!!!

Room Tip: Garden Room has a walk out to private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meg1pat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trawden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A truly wonderful 'boutique' guesthouse. We were delighted with our stay at Six Brunton Place, which is set in a typically Georgian row. 0ur room in the basement was huge! Decorated in muted colours this large room felt cosy and warm. There was a fabulous kingsize bed with gorgeous white cotton sheets and loads of pillows. The room was furnished with a lovely leather sofa and roomy coffee table. There was a big flat screen TV, lovely tea and coffee making facilities with homemade flapjacks and fresh milk. The room lead through patio doors into a leafy garden, via a space which housed a table and four chairs and a extra wardrobe space. The highlight of the room was most decidedly the bathroom. It could have been in a five star hotel! Tastefully decorated in tonal beiges and creams, with a massive power shower, underfloor heating, heated steam free mirrors and gorgeous fluffy towels.

Breakfast did not disappoint! Homemade bread and a great selection of homemade jams, a fabulous hearty full 'English' breakfast, fruit, cereal etc.

What a find in the heart of Edinburgh, we will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrawdenBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Of our 2 wks in Scotland, this was the best place we stayed (and not the most expensive place). Sue, the hostess, was the sweetest, most gracious person we encountered. She helped us with reservations, advice on what to see and do, and was generally there for us at all times. The place was immaculate, and although the bathroom was small, it had great soaps, and thick fresh towels everyday. The breakfast was the best thing of all! I would have paid extra for it. Overall, a fabulous place to stay with a great location.

Room Tip: We had the only room on the ground level and it probably had the most light - looking out onto a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELINDA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
961 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,836 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 149 in Edinburgh
327 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Brunton Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Brunton Place Guest House

Property: Six Brunton Place Guest House
Address: 6 Brunton Place, Edinburgh EH7 5EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Brunton Place Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Georgian Guest House All bedrooms have luxury en suite bathrooms, cable TV/DVD/i pod dock and broadband. Quiet garden for guest use. Convenient city centre location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Six Brunton Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Brunton Place Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
6 Brunton Place Guest House
Six Brunton Place Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing