We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hogmanay stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCraes's B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
McCraes's B&B
Ranked #24 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent Hogmanay stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We found John very welcoming and were very impressed with the B&B - the room was spacious, the bed lovely, big and comfortable, and the vegetarian breakfasts were just what we needed to start the day (we liked the addition of homemade cake too).
Nice, quiet location, just a short walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
93
29
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our first anniversay and John was really helpful. Even when we had to bring the cat due to an unprecedented injury.
The room and en suite bathroom was almost bigger than our apartment in London, the decor and furnishings were modern and nicely thought out. Breakfast was sizeable and cooked perfectly, with a slice of banana cake at the end. John provided us with mint tea on request and recommended areas to go for dinner. We'd definitely stay again!
We came and went by taxi and it cost us between £5 and £6 from Waverley station and it is an easy walk into the centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JAY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The room at McCraes' B&B is comfortably and beautifully furnished and decorated. It is also impeccably clean and the surrounding is quiet. In the room was a kettle with a range of tea bags which added a lovely touch to the experience of staying in Edinburgh.

The breakfast selection was also great. John the host had also arranged breakfast at an earlier time to fit my schedule.

The B&B is also located within walking distance of the city centre and Waverley Station, restaurants and a large supermarket.

It far exceeded my expectations and I'd strongly recommend McCraes' B&B to anyone looking for a place to stay in Edinburgh.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at McCrae's so we could go to a nice restaurant in the City, and were overjoyed at the place. John is such a dedicated and attentive host - great breakfast cook too. The location - just a short walk away from the city centre - was fantastic. Such a quiet little spot for a city B+B, and easy parking too. The rooms were very comfortable and cosy, well organised and thought out. The en-suite was perfectly adequate with a great shower. Nice selection of teas and snacks too. And if you have any concern for the planet's eco-systems, John only uses enviro-friendly products in the B+B, without being at all hair-shirt about it. Would thoroughly recommend this great little B+B - for a city break it is perfectly located and so much better than those impersonal corporate nightmare hotels and hostels. We will definately consider using this place again. Keep up the good work, John.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cambolonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Decided on this B&B after reading all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, and so glad I made the right choice.

The B&B is in a great location - 15 minutes' walk from the city centre, and 5 minutes' walk from lots of cafés and restaurants. As we used the B&B as our base to visit other parts of Scotland, John was kind enough to store our baggage while we were away.

We got to stay in all 3 rooms during our stay and can vouch for the comfort of each one of them. John made us feel very comfortable during our stay and was handy with good advice on where to go and what to do. When we were concerned about a flight disruption for our trip back home, he was kind enough to hold a room for us till our flight was confirmed, even though he had decided on not taking any bookings for the next few days due to a busy schedule. He was also flexible with check-in and check-out times as long as the room was available.

We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend McCraes's.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyDeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I followed the reviews I saw on tripadvisor, and it was definitely a good idea ! McCraes B&B is for people who likes to be in a quiet place, clean and stylished rooms, not like all the rooms in basic hotels. You just feel like you're at home, John the owner perfectly runs the place ! We forgot our electric adaptator and there was one in the room, everything is done to make things easier for the guests ! We really appreciate the fact to be a little bit out of centre, more quiet, and its actually not really far, 15 minutes walk, you do it with pleasure, we never took the bus during our stay ! The full scottish breakfast is amazing !! And what else...the bed is the best bed I've ever slept in !!! Thanks again John we'll come back for sure !!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shishu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John W, Owner at McCraes's B&B, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review folks. I appreciate all reviews but am always particularly happy to hear that people feel so at home here. It's exactly what I'm aiming for and I enjoy welcoming people in who are looking for that during their stay. I look forward to seeing you both again before too long.

cheers

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good Location, 10/15 minutes of nice walk from city center. Cosy Huge room, with bath tub. Very nice breakfast. I would totally recomend this place, if you want to visit Edimburgh. John, was also very helpful with some tips and directions to visit the city and the highlands.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yo_y_los_viajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#34 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCraes's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCraes's B&B

Property: McCraes's B&B
Address: 44 East Claremont Street, Edinburgh EH7 4JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McCraes's B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McCrae's Bed and Breakfast is a family-run eco-friendly, organic guest house, conveniently located in Edinburgh's historic New Town, only a 10 minute walk to the City Centre. We offer our guests affordable, high-quality accommodation that quite literally doesn't cost the earth as we strive to make a minimal impact on our environment and will help reduce your carbon-footprint while enjoying our wonderful city. We are a recently renovated, traditional Edinburgh main door apartment in a block that is over 130 years old and many period features, such as ornate cornicing, have been retained; the decor is a tasteful mix of old and new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your McCraes's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McCraes's B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing