We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flat with character in excellent location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerrala
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Flat with character in excellent location”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Cosy flat on second floor of row of terraces, right in the heart of Edinburgh, by Hanover Street and less than 10 minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverley station. The decor is rather striking: black woodwork, deep red walls, lots of character. There are two flights of stone steps to the front door, which my Mum (in her 80s) struggled with. The flat is very well provided for, in two en suite bedrooms, with the second loo is off the landing. Plenty of kitchen stuff, a dishwasher and washing machine. TVs in the lounge and both bedrooms. There's a communal front entrance door and it's positioned next to a pub. Drinkers tend to sit outside on warm evenings and the sounds did drift upwards. Just a warning for the noise-sensitive. A galley kitchen with dining in the lounge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Waiting for the key pick up at the start of the rental. Hanging around outside, waiting for landlord, who was unavoidably delayed.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kales015
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed June 19, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thistle St is a great location first of all, close enough to Princes St and the Royal Mile without being too close, but certainly not far away. The Castle is easily within walking distance as is Arthurs Seat, the Nelson Monument, the Royal Botanical Gardens down in Stockbridge, and the Scott Monument, National Gallery and another art museum are right there. There's a pub next door, Sainsbury's nearby, ATM on Henderson St, lots of food and bar options, and a liquor store down the street. Everything is very walkable.

Dave was very friendly and welcoming. The apartment is small and cosy, worked well for the 4 of us. There are 2 bathrooms with sink and shower in each of the rooms, one of which has a toilet, and separate bathroom (toilet and sink) off the entrance/living room. There are also TVs in every room and some movies/books/guides/maps left behind. It was a fairly quiet street but the rooms are right next to the pub. The kitchen was very useful and the fridge a good enough size. We cooked nearly every night and made do. There is a dishwasher as well as a washing machine though we didn't really know how to use that one...there's Wifi of course and closets to hang your clothes in or drawers. The beds were fine and the neighbors quiet. Everything was great, would go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanoo7
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm,clean cosy,well equipped apartment in a great location”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay here but there are two negatives. Next door is a pub whose garden space is below the twin bedrooms window, so very noisy till quite late. Secondly the stairs to reach the apartment are of worn stone and at the time of our visit, not all the hall lighting was working.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness & warmth plus location
Liked least: pub next door and stone steps to reach apartment
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHughGir...
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this apartment at short notice for half term for my family and I. Location was excellent for our needs, and accomodation perfect for family requirements, clean, warm and large enough for four adults, although no parking meant we had to pay £15 per day in St James' NCP car park, which was a ten minute walk away.
Queens Arms at the end of the road does an excellent selection of beers and malts, as do many of the free houses around Edinburgh.

Went on a visit to Linlithgow Palace in Fife, which was wonderful, as was Edinburgh Castle, although Old Town is extremely busy and pubs charge more for food and drink etc.

Had a wonderful week, will definately go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julespmk
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A good Hogmany Break!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed with a two sons (aged 25 & 17), you enter the apartments via steep stone steps, glad the boys were with us to carry the luggage. We were very impressed upon our arrival as we got to Edinburgh for 8.30 am and David was there to meet us at the Apartment at 9.30 with the Apartment all clean and ready for us, great as it meant we had the whole day.

It is in a great central location near a pub and although it is central as it is high up it is very quiet, even on New Years Eve when people are coming back home at 4 am!!

Bedroom 2 with the twin beds has an en-suite shower but no toilet, the boys had to use the toilet in the hall way.

The apartment was lovely and warm and a gas fire can be lit to give it a bit of cosiness.

The decour is dark reds, greens with black paint work (our teenage son found it a bit eery) but some feel it is part of the charm. The bathrooms, cloak room and kitchen are modern.

There was no wall mounted TV, radio or Bose Hi Fi, but our sons made good use of the free internet via their lap top computers.

The kitchen is well equipped (but no freezer) we did not realise this until we had been shopping and came back with some frozen food!!

We would recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of what was advertised on the web and the cleanliness of bathroom
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
Please note that the steps at this property are not steep at this property and they actually have a shallower gradient than most Edinburgh stairwells. It is locate don the second floor of the property and is not high up.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Jersey
Reviewed July 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing