We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LOUD but nice place”
other travelers have booked this property
bedroom with kingsize double
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom with kingsize double
lounge/kitchen area with window onto Royal Mile shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
128 reviews
bedroom with kingsize double
lounge/kitchen area with window onto Royal Mile
shower room
Ladystairs 1 floor plan
front of Ladystairs building on the Royal mile
view up Royal mile from lounge window
view down Royal mile from bedroom window
close entrance and looking down the Royal Mile
Ladystair Close entrance from Royal mile
view from stair onto Writers museum in Ladystairs Close
Ladystairs starir entrance door
bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
NChotelra...
NC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“LOUD but nice place”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

2/5 Ladystairs is very nice and clean but loud. You are right in the heart of the action and the bedroom windows face the Royal Mile where you can hear things at all hours of the day and night. If you are a light to moderate sleeper, I would recommend staying elsewhere. I used ear plugs, a noise maker and had to finally resort to sleeping pills but I'm a light sleeper. You can hear everything coming from the street (music from the bagpipes, drunken people at 3AM, etc.). I doubt you can beat the price and this place is all one needs but wish we wouldn't have stayed in the heart of the action. Live and learn.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RufusRoff...
Guernsey
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed and positioned”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here for the 11 nights for the Commonwealth Games and commuted to Glasgow. We were delighted with the flat and its position in the very heart of the old town at the top of the Royal Mile. When we did have any time off from watching sport we found it really convenient for many pubs and restaurants. Would love to return one day and simply chill in Edinburgh. No hesitation at all about recommending it.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position
Liked least: noise - but that goes with the great position
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A D
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved this apartment....”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wow, what an excellent apartment, located in a position to die for. Overlooking the Royal Mile, this is a fantastic base that is near just about everything - in fact, it would be quicker to list what you are not near!. The medieval building and its surroundings are everything we hoped they would be. Loved this apartment, loved Edinburgh!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whats not to like, although staying in a medieval apartment overlooking where Robert Burns lived, and opposite where Deacon Brodie lived was pretty cool.
Liked least: Having to leave......
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“At the steps of the castle”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Excellent property. Comfortable. Lots of space. Great view of the castle. Walking distance to all major destinations.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amount of space
Liked least: Having to turn on the power shower and water heater 30min before showering
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeddalAro...
Vacaville, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Royal Treatment on the Royal Mile”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We cannot say enough good about our first apartment rental thru Trip Advisor. This was a very good experience. The owner's representative was courteous, helpful, and friendly. We were met promptly as agreed at the apartment, shown all the amenities, and given all kinds of helpful tips for our stay in Edinburgh.

The apartment itself was a model of the perfect place to rent for a week or more. It was clean, tastefully decorated, in a perfect central location, and stocked with everything for a "self-catering" stay.. It was also well stocked with all the little things you'd need from cleaning supplies for the kitchen, to extra towels and blankets. We felt safe coming and going as well as feeling that the apartment itself was secure. We even had wi-fi that worked perfectly anytime we needed it.

Renters need to be aware that you'll be in the very heart of things in Edinburgh. So, if you can't deal with patrons at the local pub howling at the moon late of a Saturday night. Well, I'd still stay here anyway and just bring some ear plugs. It was one of those things that made the trip that much more memorable. Edinburgh is a beautiful city, the Scottish people are warm and friendly, and Haggis at "the local" is quite good.

A charming quirk that may be a deterrent if you aren't in good shape or enjoy taking heavy luggage on vacation: the entry to the apartment is via a real live turret stairway to the 2nd (3rd in the US) floor of the building. It was charming to enter our flat every night via our turret and gave us a little "stair stepper" workout. But hey, we're on vacation to have fun experiences. This was.

Overall, we loved our apartment rental experience and would stay there again and again.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, great location, perfect place to enjoy Edinburgh.
Liked least: Nothing, it was great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabbasaur...
Kenai, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The best feature of this property is the location. Absolutely in the thick of things, right on the Royal Mile, a stone's throw from all the touristy activities, shops, and transportation.

The flat itself is up a narrow, spiral staircase. If you have big luggage, you'll have to make a few trips to get it all. The door to access the flat is in Makar's Court, so if you're coming from the Royal Mile you'll have to go through Ladystair's Close to access it.

There was some confusion at check-in which was resolved and we were able to settle in after a two hour wait. The flat is comfortable and quiet despite the front windows opening to the main street. Just close them and the sound dies down.

This was my first experience using a vacation rental, and I'll not be repeating it. Not because of the quality of service or the flat itself, but because I prefer guest houses or Inns. I would recommend this flat based on it's location and price. You really can't do better in Edinburgh.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The miscommunication regarding my reservation and arrival
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahopefult...
Fintry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great apartment, brilliant location”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is situated in the heart of the old town, with views both up and down the Royal Mile. It was well equipped; clean and comfortable. The greeter was helpful, cheery and was happy to arrange a slightly early entry time to allow me to drop my baggage off before my meeting. I thoroughly recommend this apartment, but I would hesitate to take it for four people. Plenty of room for two.

Date of stay: April 2014
Liked best: That view down the royal mile!
Liked least: I had trouble disposing of my garbage, and was intimidated by a neighbour who would not believe I was a resident
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing