We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #31 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“super”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

trendy uber cool friendly staff
particularly liked the valet parker in missoni kilt
great rooms bright and colourful
great breakfast
will go again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    637
    206
    62
    40
See reviews for
290
1,521
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
loves2009
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I went to this hotel with my partner for a birthday treat... I was really excited to get away and to treat us in a 5 star hotel, as we don't get away often.
When we got to the hotel we looked for the reception at the front of the entrance and was not to impressed that the hotel reception was actually to little round desks at the far left when we walked into the hotel. Once we traced the reception we dealt with the friendly staff and got our keys to the double room that was booked. Once we realised how to work the lifts, we got to our room to find it had 2 single beds not the double as we were promised. Back down the lift we go to the small reception area and explained to the staff what we were expecting, we finally managed to get our room changed and back into the confusing lift we go.....
When we got to our room it was really small but modern, maybe too modern.... Everything that was in with the price was in the room as promised, however after a days travel all what i wanted was a lovely soak in the bath before going out and was disappointed to find no bath in the bath room. Bath robes were in the bathroom for our use, however my partner is big built and it didn't meet in the middle so wasn't much use.
We only paid for room only at £391 for the two nights and would have expected to get breakfast for that price however breakfast was a extra £15 each per day and decided that a scottish breakfast is not worth the money.
The hotel is however really close to Edinburgh Castle and the Grass Market which we visited and there is a cracking pub that serves cheap lovely food right beside it, i cant actually remember it's name possibly Brodies Tavern.
I'm not sure if i would return to this hotel as to be honest i wouldn't say it is worth the 5 star rating or the price!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Trendy and funky whilst still incredibly stylish and classy. Fresh change to the typical tartan expectations of Scotland. I was recommended to stay by a friend and have since recommended on to several others. Best bits - friendly staff, amazing breakfast, gorgeous bed linen and the lobby bar cocktails. Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionelsLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here on a weekend trip and found the staff, service and location to be excellent. Only problems we had were basic design issues such as wardrobe sliding door that didn't allow access to half the clothes door and room lighting. If you are taking a car paking can be quite an issue too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kincorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Very difficult to fault. Good value, lovely room and great staff. some nice touches as well to make it extra special.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyPinnegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Missoni Hotel. I am a regular visitor to Edinburgh, but this was the first time I had stayed at the hotel. We were both impressed with the friendly staff and once you get used to the decor (!), it appeals. Very comfortable bed and attractive room. The Missoni is certainly in the top two hotels within the capital. Chris & Carol Kilroy

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_HBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Have to tell you, if you want to have a good time in Edinburgh think about location, great hotel and helpfull staff.... so take Missoni. The hotel is beautifu, the room is really nice and confortable, very clean and make you fell young. Modern decoration kind of top models style... nice... Had room service and somedrinks at the bar (what a nice staff in the bar... no mojitos, not a problem I will do something that you will like... amazing). The location is perfect, a few steps from the castlle and near by night life. A £ 5 cab will drop you in the middle of the other part of the town so you can enjoy restaurants and other views....

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livingalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing