We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
1 review
“nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

we went for my husband's birthday and it was lovely. The staff even put a surprise birthday cake into our room. The hotel is very well located and very flash. We had a fab experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buns11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,741
    634
    206
    61
    39
See reviews for
287
1,502
96
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed at the Missoni Hotel and it was wonderful, the staff were excellent and knowledgeable. Our room had amazing views. They advised us of some trendy places to go for drinks and dinner. We had a great time and would definately go back again. The location of the hotel was good for us as your close by the old and new town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meena73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Great hotel in a superb location. Staff very attentive and happy to recommend bars etc.
Hotel rooms on the side street do not have double glazing and the shutters do not provide blackout - if its a bright morning the sun comes treaming through.
The hotel restaurant is a must - not cheap but food is well cooked and presented. The hotel friendly atmosphere extends into the restaurant and cocktail bar. Speak to the Grappa king in the restaurant and he will wow you with his knowledge. Pack comfortable shoes!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnCh0rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at Missoni, The staff were friendly and efficient from the initial greeting at check-in until the moment we left. The decor is fantastic and creates a unique atmosphere. Bedrooms are extremely well designed and include all the facilities you need - including a free minibar! Highlight for us was leisurely lunch with a large group of friends at the excellent Cucina restaurant. Great, authentic italian food and wine in a stylish setting with attentive service.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

This is a positive review but need to make comment over a few minor negatives. I found the rooms and atmosphere enjoyable. The staff throughout were excellent. The room was the usual box but decor was great. - with extra little touches like the coffee machine - the bed excellent and the bathroom perfect. One strange design fault, however, there was only two tiny drawers in the whole room. Is this because they expect only one night stays. The restaurant isn't up to the rest of the hotel. It's a strange barn of a place. Breakfast choice was disappointing and although my choice of egg benedict was beautifully cooked - it arrived lukewarm.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benacally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed here for my husbands 40th Birthday. Staff were extremely helpful, took our bags up to the room for us. Room was gorg, was fantastically decorated and had the biggest, comfiest bed I have been in for a long time in a hotel. Everything was immaculate down to the coathangers and pillowcases with Missoni labels. The minibar was good too. Two beers, some crisps, milk and water....not bad. Dressing gowns were nice and cosy, as were the slippers and the Espresso machine easy to use. The films on the B&O TV fantastic too. All in all this was a fantastic place to stay, location was spot on and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkyweemidgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

I and my wife stayed at your hotel on the above date. I have to say the
overall stay was something of a disappointment.

Firstly the good points:-

a. The room was clean and comfortable.
b. The shower was excellent.

The bad points:-

a. When I booked the room the I advised that it was a special
occasion being our wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. I was
advised that a card in this connection would be prepared and left in the
room- this did not happen.

b. When I returned to the hotel in the late afternoon to check the
days football results I could not operate the teletext. I telephoned
reception and was advised a member of staff would come to my room to
sort this out. Some two minutes later I received a telephone call
indicating the teletext system was not working. I found this incredible
in a "so called" five star hotel.

c. The room was too warm with the air conditioning set at too high a
temperature.

d. The menu for the evening was extremely limited.

e. The bar was noisy and uncomfortable in the late evening.

f. The breakfast in the restaurant on the Sunday morning was little
short of shambolic with queues everywhere. The menu was unclear as to
what was on offer. Service was poor and the restaurant staff seemed
hastled and annoyed.The tea served up was cold and the presentation
overall was poor and the Scottish breakfast in particular seemed lost on
the plate -certainly not a full Scottish breakfast as I understand it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineGuestServices, Guest Services Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, April 25, 2010
Dear Mr Ramsey,
Thanks for writing to us regarding your stay with us a couple of weeks ago. I know my colleague James has been in touch with you directly, but I wanted reply to your posting and to re-iterate our sincere apologies. I was so disappointed to read your review and and I am sorry that we let you both you and ourselves down. I realise that there is no point in making excuses for letting our standards slip, but rest assured that there will never be a repeat performance! Thank you sincerely for getting in touch and letting us know. I know that nothing I can say can get the experience back for you, but we really would like the opportunity to welcome you back and try to make it up to you. Please give me a call directly on +44131 240 1653 if booking with us again, and I promise I will make sure you have a true Missoni experience. I hope to see you again in the future.
Best regards
Janine
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing