We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, surprisingly low-key, classy place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed for a Saturday and Sunday night, after our wedding at Edinburgh zoo. The room was great: we were moved to a suite on the fifth floor as a congratulations, which meant lots of space and lovely views over the Forth. The bed was very big and incredibly comfortable, and the bathroom's outsize shower was very nice too. Our rate didn't include breakfast, and the one breakfast we did order, for £12, wasn't exactly a bargain, but not particularly surprising. The service was pretty decent - very friendly and helpful. The whole place seemed extremely low-key, given the rather hyped chat about Missoni's first hotel etc, which we liked. Cocktails were at ok prices, and were good, if not absolutely first rate.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinterSamuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,642 - 2,648 of 2,894 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

I am in love with this hotel.

First of all the location is unbelievable. I can see why someone might expect something different from a five star hotel, like something more decadent or grandiose, but for me it was so refreshing. Having a great interest in modern design and architecture i just loved the way the patterns would repeat themselves from the china on to the shelves, the curtain and tha matching bathrobes with the same print on the toilet paper!
The staff was lovely, very helpfull and acoomodating, the hotel was amazingly clean and new, the elevators were gorgeous and even though the rooms could have been bigger the bright colours and big windows didn't make you feel crammed. i loved the shower!

as for the price, I think it was great value for money if you keep in mind location and services included. I paid £144 for a twin room which compared to £109 that was the same price for the Hudson hotel I thought it was 100 times nicer, and everything in the minibar was complimentary compared to the hudson that charged you a £5 extra for roomservice, you had a selection of 50 movies to download on your TV to watch for free and I really loved the colours, mirrors, floors, everything about it.

When I saw the breakfast selection I thought it was rather poor for a 5* hotela nd the price. I love hotel breakfasts that have huge selections of food on display, but the pistachio minicakes where sooo delicious and the coffee was great, something you don't get often in the uk.

Overall I really want to go back soon and would choose any other missoni hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I are just back from a fabulous two night stay at the Missoni and we loved every bit of it. The staff are the most pleasant, happy & helpful we have experienced in a long time.
Right from the start our welcome at Reception, the porters taking our luggage to & from the room, the bar staff & the service in the restaurant were all faultless. We ate in the restaurant on one of the nights and loved the atmosphere and buzz about the place. We also loved the location & the fact that our car was parked in their own carpark allbeit at a cost but this is no different from most Hotels and it is in the centre of Edinburgh after all!
The decor is wonderful and we felt the rooms to be of a high standard and unlike a previous reviewer we did not hear any noise comming from any of the surrounding rooms.
We will definitely be back in the future. Cant wait!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAJXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

There is certainly a lot to take in with the decor at The Missoni - on every corner a different pattern, colour, texture - sometimes good, sometimes cool, sometimes verging on a little overwhelming, and in some instances I felt like I was shopping in a retail store - catalogues also supplied in room...eek.

The size of our room was a little disappointing (especially for the price). However the bed was huge and comfortable, shower was fantastic, funky espresso machine was a nice touch, as was the complimentary mini bar. The wooden floorboards in the room at first seemed cool also. Cool was soon replaced with bewilderment, as you can hear every step your neighbours take - but perhaps sleeping is simply too cool for this hotel.

Staff were pleasant and eager to please with everything from directions to the nearest Starbucks to ordering some food from the Pizza Express under the building.

The location is great - loads of tourist attractions, shops and good restaurants/bars near by, and the walk to the main shopping area is around 15 minutes.

The bar in the main lobby was probably the biggest let down of the stay. Great set up, but the crowd (at a guess) would not be overly on brand for The Missoni, which unfortunately remained consistent over our 5 day stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank review_h0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineGuestServices, Guest Services Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2009

Hi
Thanks for your review of the hotel. I'm glad to hear you were impressed with the staff and service. Sorry if your room was noisy...if we'd known at the time we would have been able to move you to something a bit quieter. Please accept my sincere apologies - how annoying considering you were with us for 5 nights!
I hope it hasn't put you off. If you ever have any problems please do let us know. I would urge anyone to contact us at the time with any issues, so that we can get them resolved and make sure people enjoy themselves. That's what we're here for!
Anyway, please let me know if you ever come back and I will look after your reservation personally.
Kind regards,
Janine
Guest Services Manager
janine.gelston@hotelmissoni.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We arrived for lunch , and did not see any available parking. Asked at the reception for the car park , and were told " we offer a valet parking service ". After a great lunch , went to collect the car keys from reception ,only to be asked for £35 for two hours parking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bracken69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at the Missoni hotel for a weekend to celebrate my birthday. From the moment we arrived until the moment that we left our stay was just perfect.
We arrived quite early in the morning and our room was ready straight away. The hotel is so beautiful and you can see the attention to details on everything. We have a couple of drinks at the bar, which was great, only a little bit of a shame that they don't serve bar food.
The breakfast was great and good value for £12.
The staff is young and sometimes you can see that they don't have lots of experience but they are really nice and attentive. I would like to specially mention the spanish lady at reception and janine for her birthday wishes and the cake that they she in the room.
we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gepmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineGuestServices, Guest Services Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2009

Hi

Happy belated birthday again and thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed your birthday celebration at Hotel Missoni! We do try to focus on the little things and attention to detail, so thank you for noticing!
Our bar serves food from 12-6pm, so maybe next time you can try it! Burgers and chips for £8 - so not bad prices either! I hope to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Janine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We arrived in Edinburgh only intending to stay the day but we decided after a days shopping to stay the night. We rang around several hotels but all were either fully booked or too expensive. We finally got lucky with the Missoni who had a spare room and was reasonably priced at just over £100 for the night. I even checked online to see if it would be cheaper to book the room online but this was by far the best price - and just for ringing up at 8pm.
The visit from start to finish was faultless and the staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much bother and they were always polite and helpful. The room itself was superb. Set out in trendy colours and furniture. We found it spacious and sterile clean. It really felt that a lot of effort had been put into the layout and design of the room.The free mini bar was a nice touch as well as trying to choose a film from the massive variety on offer on the hotels free box office service. The hotel was centrally located in the city centre and close by to decent bars, restaurants and Princes St and the castle.
As a treat we opted for breakfast being delivered to the room and we weren't disappointed. It was well priced at £12 and was worth every penny. This coupled with the fact that check in wasn't untill 12pm meant we could have a lush, relaxing and lazy morning.
We were really impressed with the hotel and would definitely stay again. We have stayed in the Carlton and really enjoyed it there but we felt that the Missoni offered a more unique experience and really made our last minute trip to Edinburgh truly memorable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BruceBogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $183 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing